Quiet Time

Hello everybody….How are you all? All good I hope.

I have not been writing any articles recently, but I am keeping close watch on what’s going on.
There are a number of reasons for my recent blogging inactivity, starting with my preoccupation with tour managing and promoting a band tour later this year. I also have two books to complete by the Autumn, and these are taking up a fair bit of my time.
So my reasons for inactivity on the independence front are not down to a sudden loss of interest, or because I don’t think its important enough. It is massively important! I just have other things to be getting on with, and it also helps me to recharge my batteries for when we get down to the really serious end of the business.

I am sure many of you will be engrossed in the upcoming council elections, although the reports I am hearing back is that these are fairly flat at the moment, and the campaigns really haven’t stirred up the general publics interest. There have even been suggestions that the turn outs may be somewhat on the low side.
I don’t blame the public for feeling that way. Many people who don’t think about politics normally, unlike anoraks like me, are just fed up with it all.
If the predictions of low turn outs do prove to be correct, it will be hugely important for independence supporters to make sure we at least get our vote out. If we succeed in getting pro independence people out, we will walk it my a Scottish country mile, and low turn outs from the brit nat opposition will only serve to make sure that Independence supporting councilors ensure that we have taken all aspects of public office in Scotland bar the westminster mps.
This can only be a good thing leading up to 2014.

How many of you noted yesterdays Economist magazines insulting front cover, with Scotland renamed Skintland, and a variety of Scottish regions, towns, landmarks and areas renamed in derogatory terms?
It honestly couldn’t have been much more insulting to Scots and Scotland if it tried….and this was meant to persuade us that staying in Union with people like that is a good thing??

Finally, before I go scurrying back to my book writing, I would like you all to see this lovely comment from somebody called British till Idie left for me. I didn’t approve the comment, because It would leave this blog open for more of the same from him/her..But here is what they said.

“Tear down this ranting nonsense promoting the biggest potential mistake in Scottish history. Anybody who genuinely thinks Scotland can even afford to be intependant is smoking too many Jamaica woodbines for their own good. Where are we going to get the money from that currently pours north from the British Government? Don’t all shout ‘The oil’ at one time. I’ll be in danger of believing you. Or at least believing you’re as daft as Wee Eck or should that be Fat Boab. We, the sensible lot who don’t want separation need to ensure we get out and vote ‘Don’t be so bloody stupid’ on voting day. Fat Boab is trying everything he can to get his own way. Think about the big plan he’s actioning just now. Offering the vote to 16 and 17 year olds. They’ll be entitled to vote by 2014 anyway but by then he’ll have them thinking, “Fat Boab must be OK because he wanted to give me the vote before I was entitle to it according to law.” and those who will be 16 or 17 by then will be thinking, “Good old Fat Boab, he gave us the vote before we were entitled to it according to law.” Stand by for an overdose of Braveheart, and Rob Roy and maybe even a resurgence of Take the High Road and Garnock Way with a little Prime of Miss Jean Brodie chucked in for good measure. Remember where you heard it first. Watch out all that’s needed is that we, the sensible ones get complacent and let them sneak it in. I’m British and want to stay that way. All those who agree, get preaching.”

I am not going to grace this with a reply, other than to say, If this is the level of debate we are faced with, roll on 2014!

About auldacquaintance

I am not a member of any political party. I am however a strong supporter of Scots Independence. Any views which I express in this Blog are purely my own. This Blog intends to be a place where I will be putting my views on Scots Independence. It will primarily concern itself with the upcoming Referendum In Scotland. However It will also be somewhat diverse in the range of day to day issues which are evident to me in modern day Scotland. Not all of it will be political, and indeed may take me off into avenues I am not even aware of yet. Please come and join in on this journey, and any comments are welcome provided they are not abusive! All the best from a new acquaintance! Rod
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Quiet Time

  1. Dave says:

    “intependant” – LOL

Leave a Reply

