Should Scotland be an Indepedent country?

Firstly, before I begin to proceed with this article, may I thank those who have been sending me messages of concern, both publicly and by private correspondence, about my recent silence and lack of articles and commentary.
Yes, I am perfectly fine and in decent health, so no worries there. But thanks for your kind thoughts, they have been very much appreciated.
I have merely been very flat, feeling somewhat disillusioned, and indeed very unhappy with the YES campaign. I wont say why, or give any further reason for this state of mind or affairs at present. However, I will say that certain matters really brought my enthusiasm to a very low point indeed, and to be frank, I am still not in a good frame of mind for writing. Who would have thought that what is meant to be a positive campaign, should have such a negative effect, and produce the exact opposite reaction to what it is endeavouring to achieve?
However, I shall say no more about these turn of events at present, there are far more important matters at foot today.

I had been anticipating, as I am sure many of you were also, the report of the electoral commission on the proposed question to be put in the referendum.
Certainly, given the way that the anti-independence mob had been braying on for weeks, demanding that the Scottish Government must agree to its findings, and also the leaks which had been coming out in all the unionist papers this week, I didn’t hold out much hope for it to be anything positive from my point of view.

But the day has finally arrived, and the findings are out.

Not unsurprisingly given all of the above, they did not agree with the proposed question ” Do you agree that Scotland should be an Independent country?”
They felt that the use of the words ” Do you agree” could possibly lead to people being led to answer in the affirmative instinctively.

Instead they have proposed the following form, ” Should Scotland be an Independent Country?”

from the responses I have seen from the Scottish Government and the YES campaign to this news today so far, they are both happy to accept this wording.

They also took a look at the proposals from the Scottish Government to limit both campaigns to a limit of £1.3million in the run up to the referendum, and they disagreed with this too,and instead suggested a limit of £1.5million for each campaign.
so not too far out from the Scottish Governments suggestion, and also quickly agreed by both the Scottish Government and the YES campaign.

So I think we can safely say now, that the following question “Should Scotland be an Independent Country?” will be the one we will see on the referendum paper.

Even without the words, “Do you agree” not being permitted, It is basically the same form of question, and for the life of me, I cannot see how anyone could answer anything but YES to that question?

Should Scotland be an Independent Country? NO

What do you mean NO?

You don’t want Scotland to have the rights that people and Countries throughout the world take for granted as their right?
You, yourself don’t want to be Independent? You want someone to make all your choices and decisions for you? Are you stark raving barking mad? Or do you want to have mummy and daddy make all your decisions in life for you for ever?

Awa and bile your heid and sober up for gods sakes!!!

Come back when you have really thought this through!

Should Scotland be an Independent Country? Yes….Damned right It should be!!

I am now away for another lie down….I wont be back for a wee while yet, but no worries..I am fine :)

Meanwhile for those who want to read the Electoral Commissions full findings…

electoral commission press release

About auldacquaintance

I am not a member of any political party. I am however a strong supporter of Scots Independence. Any views which I express in this Blog are purely my own. This Blog intends to be a place where I will be putting my views on Scots Independence. It will primarily concern itself with the upcoming Referendum In Scotland. However It will also be somewhat diverse in the range of day to day issues which are evident to me in modern day Scotland. Not all of it will be political, and indeed may take me off into avenues I am not even aware of yet. Please come and join in on this journey, and any comments are welcome provided they are not abusive! All the best from a new acquaintance! Rod
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Should Scotland be an Indepedent country?

  1. Boorach says:

    Yes….. I want Scotland to be an independent country (tomorrow would be fine).

  2. Kate says:

    “Who would have thought that what is meant to be a positive campaign, should have such a negative effect, and produce the exact opposite reaction to what it is endeavouring to achieve? ”

    I can only say that for myself, I can relate to this part of your post, I honestly thought that the YES campaign would have been LIFTING my spirits to such great highs by this time. Sadly that is not the case for me either.

    • I am so utterly scunnered with them at the moment, that It has put me off writing about them, or indeed anything else until today.

      The reason I am holding back, Is that it doesn’t help matters any, and what I might have to say, could be handing the opposition ammunition I certainly do not want to be giving them!!

      The result has been compete silence on my part..

      But I think everyone will get by what I have said today ..that I am very distinctly NOT happy .

  3. Helen Yates says:

    Fully understand where your coming from, Think I am depressed with the whole business and I can’t help but worry that if it is making me feel this way when Independence is the most passionate thing in my life what is it doing to folk who don’t care too much. Yes I think i’ll just go lie down too

  4. David McCann says:

    Well if it is of any comfort, I know many on the Yes team and met Ian Dommett their Marketing Director recently and was impressed by his knowledge and enthusiasm. It is my belief that the team will roll out their programme slowly and with care, through 2013.

  5. Bill C says:

    Rod sorry to hear you are a bit disenchanted with the YES campaign. I have been a member of the SNP for more than 40 years and like thousands of other nationalists, I have had my fair share of disappointments, However, can I show you something?
    “Should Scotland be an Independent Country? NO

    What do you mean NO?

    You don’t want Scotland to have the rights that people and Countries throughout the world take for granted as their right?
    You, yourself don’t want to be Independent? You want someone to make all your choices and decisions for you? Are you stark raving barking mad? Or do you want to have mummy and daddy make all your decisions in life for you for ever?

    Awa and bile your heid and sober up for gods sakes!!!

    Come back when you have really thought this through!

    Should Scotland be an Independent Country? Yes….Damned right It should be!! ”

    The guy that wrote the above wants to see his country free. He wants to be governed by his fellow countrymen/women. He wants his country to join the rest of the international community as a normal nation amongst nation states. He wants his government to prioritise social justice instead of weapons of mass destruction. He wants the normality of self government. He is not alone, there are tens of thousands of his fellow Scots who want the same. However the guy above is a wee bit different, you see he has a way with words, he can write and inspire, he has the creativity to make a difference. See the guy who has the talent to write the above, tell him his country needs him more now than its ever needed him.

    • Oh That Guy Is still here, and will keep fighting!
      But right now, he is somewhat pissed off with a few folks who are and should be on the same side..
      There has been some communication back and forth…and while this guy can’t fault the responses, which have all been good and proper, as would be hoped and expected.
      There have been other things which have been discovered in the process of all that communication, where the above guy has been less than enamoured!

      These matters left the same said guy, fairly well pissed off with the campaign, but no less determined to do his own bit to drive for Independence.
      But right now, he is royally pissed off!!!

  6. Macart says:

    I’ve had serious fallouts with friends, family, colleagues and peers. It can leave you feeling lower and colder than a penguin’s arse in a snowdrift. But….. and its an important but…… they are still my friends, family, colleagues and peers.

    Here’s a wee taster of where the real problem lies.

    http://www.guardian.co.uk/commentisfree/cartoon/2013/jan/30/scottish-independence-referendum-question-cartoon

    If ever we need reminding of why we do what we do…………… Pick up soon AA. :)

Leave a Reply

