Getting Pished for Scotland

Those that know me well, will also know that I have been going through some bloody tough times recently in my personal life, and I have been struggling a lot recently with a whole load of stuff and garbage since the beginning of this year.
However, despite my reticence to write anything at all recently, It does not mean that I have given up on the cause of Scottish Independence. Me giving up on Scottish Independence aint ever likely to happen in my lifetime, no matter how hard things get.
Sometimes however, I need a rest!

My idea of taking a rest on this matter, Is to stop breathing! That has not happened yet either!

Now Scots have had a reputation of liking a wee dram or two on occasion, and in that respect, I have been known somewhat infrequently to have some water of life when the mood takes me. Tonight was just such a time.

There have been many ways of trying to get the message of Scots Independence across, but tonight we had a slightly different method….Getting pished for Scotland!
My partner in crime tonight was my young cousin, a sharp intelligent young man with a couple of degrees behind him, one in Engineering and the other in Teaching. He also has been brought up by his mother to be very much a Royalist and a British Nationalist.
He has been a staunch opponent of Scottish Independence and has a particular dislike for the SNP.

In the past the two of us have had several jousts over the issue of Scots Independence, where he has argued from whatever the popular stance the Unionist press or the BBC have been espousing at the time.
On each occasion I have batted these arguments to hell and back, but he has still against his own rationality refused to see past the British State.
So tonight I was not surprised to find him revisit the issue with me once again.

I got from him the same anti Salmond, anti SNP, anti Independence arguments, and again I batted them back at him with a straight bat. I gave him facts to back up my arguments on the issues. Europe seemed to be his choice of battleground tonight, quoting arguments form the press and the BBC’s Politics Today programme. It was easy meat for me!

Having had his arguments dismantled,he then went on the SNP attack, equating Independence with SNP policies. It was at this point that I stopped him dead in his tracks.
I informed him that independence was not an SNP monopoly, and whatever policies the SNP espoused ,I was not necessarily in agreement with. I also informed him that there were areas of SNP stated policy which I would question, such as the willingness to automatically remain a member of the EU. I felt and do feel, that we should be having a closer look at the EFTA , European Free Trade Association, which Norway and Switzerland and several other countries are a part of. Thereafter giving him a lecture on the EU and EFTA, and the pros and cons of them.

After all this, I took the argument away from political parties altogether, and said ….Look take the SNP out of this equation, you don’t like them, fair doos. From there on in, It was a systematic attack on what the British State had done under both Labour and Conservative governments since 1979. I took him through facts and figures on poverty and the Rich-poor divide from Thatcher to the current day. I gave him chapter and verse on what Labour had set up through their Welfare Reform Bill, and being maliciously used by todays CON/Lib coalition.
Having done all that, I asked him if he was in agreement with what they had done, and were now doing?
The answer was NO he was not!
I said right… SO we have agreement,that what has been happening for so long now, has been wrong.
SO do you think, given the recent history of a Blue Labour and the Tories, that another British Government will in any way significantly alter that state of affairs? NO was again the answer.

Ok..We are getting somewhere, and we both agree on what is worng, and it is not in any way likely to be put right under the British State any time soon!

Now let me ask you.. Given what you know of your own values and beliefs, would you want to do something about this awful state of affairs? Yes of course I would, came the answer.
Ok…Given what you know of your family and friends and the community you were brought up in, would they be happy with what has gone on,or would they want to change it? They would want to change it, said he.
Right.. Given what you know to be the general values of Scots and the people of Scotland, would they want to put an end to this insufferable inequality and malicious attacks on the vulnerable in society?
Yes I suppose they would, came the answer.

Right said I, we are both in agreement. What is more, we will change nothing as long as the British State decides for us, we have no say! We can have a voice if we are our own Country, and we are Sovereign!
If you want to change all this garbage, we have to be Independent to do it!

Ahh says he… But have you seen that the SNPs rigged question ..”Do you agree that Scotland should be an Independent Country” has been rejected by the Electoral Commission?
Aye says I, but it wasn’t a rigged question! and have you not considered that type of phrasing has been used in different previous referendums? What’s more the Scottish Government have said they are perfectly happy with the new question,”Should Scotland be an Independent Country? “
What sort of fool would argue against that premise?
I would say NO says he.
Really? Says I .
Are you really going to tell still tell me that hogwash?
Let me put it to you…. Do you not want to be independent yourself? Or are you such a Mammies boy that you would rather live under her coat tails and have her making all your decisions for you? Of course not says he!
Right….So you wouldn’t want that same Independence for your own Country that you want for yourself?

Ok Now let me tell you this sir..

I frankly do not give a damn about what party you support or reject.
I don’t give a shit about the SNP or any other party!
What I want, and I have always wanted since I was a boy, was our own right to be Independent.
I want us to live in a Socially Just country, I want the same bloody rights for you, me, my people, my community, and our culture and our Country…To make this land a better place, to be a fair place, and to give equal opportunity for all.
I don’t want to see the constant crap we have to put up with, and have no say in, being forever inflicted upon us.
I have always believed,and always will believe, and will die believing, that we have a right to be Independent,and the right to make our own decisions, and make our own choices, and the right to make this place a better place to live in!!
To hell with politics and politicians, and all their bloody crap!!
Lets make a bloody difference…and make our country a place to be proud of…and not this shit hole which the British State want us to dig around in their muck for!

Argument done… debate won…

You really should be a politician says he….You could convince me where none of them could!
Nae bloody chance says I!! I want one thing right now…..An Independent Scotland!!

Need ma bed now….I am pished!!! ;)

About auldacquaintance

I am not a member of any political party. I am however a strong supporter of Scots Independence. Any views which I express in this Blog are purely my own. This Blog intends to be a place where I will be putting my views on Scots Independence. It will primarily concern itself with the upcoming Referendum In Scotland. However It will also be somewhat diverse in the range of day to day issues which are evident to me in modern day Scotland. Not all of it will be political, and indeed may take me off into avenues I am not even aware of yet. Please come and join in on this journey, and any comments are welcome provided they are not abusive! All the best from a new acquaintance! Rod
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Getting Pished for Scotland

  1. Hugh Docherty says:

    This could have been written by myself. The want for independence is a social aspiration, it just so happens we need the political party to put it in motion. Agree in every way ( except for a couple of minor spelling mistakes) but I’m a grumpy pedant like that…………..

  2. Macart says:

    Wish I’d read this one first AA. I’ve just spent two minutes trying to be all motivational on the other thread. :D

  3. Brilliant, a proper debate retold. I have often thought though (and I know that these debates usually happen for me unexpectedly when someone spouts some regurgitated pish from the MSN or worse Bitter together) that I should have recorded the debate because, to make somone change their perception, you have to make them question their understanding of what’s happening.
    So for example
    Q1) Do you want a better fairer more prosperous Scotland? Yes or No?
    Q2) Do you believe Westminster has delivered that in the past? Yes or No?
    Q3) Who do you think is more interested in making things better for Scotland? The Scottish people or Westminster?
    Q4) On the basis of your previous answers should you vote Yes or No for a better future?

  4. I salute your Indefectibility, may the force be with you.

  5. Barontorc says:

    Yes, it’s all coming together – not better, but best!

  6. Alan Bowie says:

    I emphatically endorse your fine piece …

  7. David McCann says:

    Sounds to me he was waiting for someone like you to convince him. I remember when I was young(long time ago!) I used to argue independence ‘till the cows came home with an ‘auld acquaintance’ . The more I argued the more he convinced me, although I did not admit it immediately, because I enjoyed the debate. That was 45 years ago! I have never wavered since- not once! Now all I want is to live long enough to see it happen. Keep up the good work. Its comin’ yet for a’ that!

Leave a Reply

