Stronger together, weaker apart

Recently the Unionist parties have been asking the SNP Government what Independence Is? Then claiming that they haven’t been getting answers to the question.
Meanwhile the SNP have asked them to explain the benefits of the Union and what Britishness is? Not much of a response there!

I have no surprise that no answer is forthcoming on the question of what is Britishness? Namely because there is no such thing! It is an entirely made up concept that endeavours to say that Scotland, England, Northern Ireland and Wales all share the same values, goals and culture. They plainly do not!

Britishness really only came into being in the latter part of the 20th Century, although technically it has its roots in 1707 Acts of Union.
Gordon Brown as prime minister tried to make a big thing about Britishness In 2006, and famously refused to call Scotland by its name and instead referred to it as North Britain!!

But what on earth is it? I certainly couldn’t say and nobody seems to be able to define it!
John Major described it as “long shadows on county grounds, warm beer, invincible green suburbs, dog lovers and pools fillers and – as George Orwell said ‘old maids bicycling to holy communion through the morning mist’.”
For former Tory chairman Norman Tebbit, it was the infamous “cricket test” which mattered. Immigrant communities, he said, should support England even when it was playing their country of origin.

Which almost immediately disqualifies Scots from being British!
We Scots as a matter of Fun will support a team from the outer regions of Jupiter or Mars if they were playing England at anything!!

I have travelled the world, but never in my life did I feel more of an alien than when I was residing in the South of England briefly when they were playing in the World Cup! These were friends, neighbours and colleagues, but I was not like them, nor they like me!
I had a girlfriend from East Anglia at the time, and she just couldn’t get my mickey taking of England’s football team, and why I was supporting the opposition!
No matter how I tried to explain it was all in jest, she just couldn’t get it! I was a traitor in her eyes, and if I disliked England so much I should just go home!
Needless to say the relationship didn’t last, and I did return home!

But Tebbits and Majors definitions don’t describe Britishness, they describe something quaintly English.
And there lies the problem. Britishness and Englishness has been for years interchangeable, therefore excluding the Scots, the Welsh and the Northern Irish.
Britishness is nothing but some expression of Englishness. Being of British Nationality is belonging to a State, not a Country.
And if you take the British Citizens test and are not English, but of the Celtic nations…You will Fail the test! You are not British.

What then of the benefits of the Union?
The Unionists have come up with very little to offer Scots on this matter either!
The best that they have so far mustered is that we are stronger together but weaker apart. That collectively we can retain our position of power In the UN and have greater say in the EEC . That Scotland alone would not be in a position to fight wars in Libya, or Afghanistan. These are benefits?? Luxembourg with a proportion of the Scotland’s populace has greater representation than we currently do in the EEC! The major fishing Industry in the British Isles is In Scotland, and we can’t get a Scottish representative to fight our corner because Westminster place an English Farming Mp instead!

As for Trident, Nato, UN …Well frankly we don’t need them!
Next?? Silence.

Ok, now what on earth do they not understand about Independence?
How thick can they possibly be? These people are running Britain?

Independent
free from outside control; not subject to another’s authority

self-governing

not depending on another for livelihood or subsistence

capable of thinking or acting for oneself

not depending on something else for strength or effectiveness; free-standing

Independence
freedom – the condition of being free; the power to act or speak or think without externally imposed restraints

autonomy, liberty – immunity from arbitrary exercise of authority: political independence

self-direction, self-reliance, self-sufficiency, autonomy

sovereignty, self-determination, self-government, self-rule,

autarchy, autarky – economic independence as a national policy

Really, what Is so hard to understand about all that?

The opposite of Independence is dependence, bondage, subordination, subjugation, subservience, subjection

Personally I think we have been subjected to enough!!

I believe we are stronger together as the Nation of Scotland, when we hand control over to others we become weaker and less able to make our own decisions of how we want our country run.

There is no value in an unequal union, and we are British only so far as we live in the British Isles. We are and always have been a Sovereign Nation and People. It is time that we remembered that!

About auldacquaintance

I am not a member of any political party. I am however a strong supporter of Scots Independence. Any views which I express in this Blog are purely my own. This Blog intends to be a place where I will be putting my views on Scots Independence. It will primarily concern itself with the upcoming Referendum In Scotland. However It will also be somewhat diverse in the range of day to day issues which are evident to me in modern day Scotland. Not all of it will be political, and indeed may take me off into avenues I am not even aware of yet. Please come and join in on this journey, and any comments are welcome provided they are not abusive! All the best from a new acquaintance! Rod
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Stronger together, weaker apart

  1. Jim Todd says:

    Hi. Your experiences are a wee bit like mine. I joined the Royal Navy in 1976. I was informed by a rather pompous admiral that I was a colonial and was lucky to be in the English navy. I was that wee bit in the corner of the white ensign. I spent the next six years being subject to, what can only be described as, racism. I won a few, lost a few. But never gave in. Through these experiences I came to realise that I am no different than my fellow Englishmen, but that I DO things differently. In Scotland, we have a more acute sense of social justice. The sooner Scotland can run her affairs, the sooner England can become the nation she deserves to be.

Leave a Reply

