One Chance Only

I wonder how many missed my comments during my blogging break?
It’s been two weeks now of my abstinence, and time for me me to get back on track again.
I had actually saved around three topics which I intended to write about on my return, and I had even saved a number of links on my browser to back them up.

Unfortunately, I had been at a bit of a low ebb recently, and 6 months of unemployment can do that to one, particularly when there is no sign of the situation improving. Our economy is stuffed, and the British government are only making it worse. Given that I am now in my mid 50’s, I don’t expect employers to be too interested in taking on somebody of my age, particularly given my employment history in recent years. Nor am I likely to take on some of the menial jobs which the jobcenter want to send my way either.
It is not that I object to doing some of their suggestions, it is just that I know I am far more capable of doing much more than what is available. I certainly have paid my way in life, and I don’t intend getting stuck with something I would hate doing.
So with that gloom hanging over me, I decided it was time to switch off for a while.

As for the topics which I had saved? Unfortunately my pc has been infected by a trojan horse and attempted browser hijacking recently, and it completely crashed. Losing all my saved links and reference material in the process.

I think you could safely say I really hit a downer! Fed up, depressed and pissed off!

All of the above brought me to thinking about missed opportunities.
Of the three things I was banking on writing about, none will now be written.
Half made plans, lost materials,whole trains of thought…All Gone, because I hadn’t taken the opportunity to write what I had in mind while I had the chance to do so.
Why had I not just gone ahead and written them anyway, and maybe even saved them for a later date?
I could have done, and maybe should have done, but I didn’t do.
It could even have been worse still, had I written them and saved them. I would have put a whole load of effort in, and felt even more miserable when my whole system had to go back to factory reset and reboot…I would have lost what I had saved!
The only way I could have avoided that scenario was to save it on separate disc.

So why, oh why did I not just write them and put them out there?
Perhaps because I was just feeling too down, too depressed, and had lost all motivation?
Given my circumstances these days, I think I can be forgiven for that state of mind.
None of what I was going to write is of any urgency anyway. It is not such a big loss.
Yet…How much better I would feel today, if I had only gone ahead and done it, instead of putting it off.
My excuses are justifiable I think, but being justifiable does not make me feel any better.

What is not justifiable to me, is allowing myself to get into that state of mind and prevarication in the first place. By allowing the negatives in my life to take control, I took away the benefits of what doing something positive would have done for me.
I was in effect happier to dwell on self pity, and to moan about what the system was doing, and to wallow in a pit of depression.
When instead, I should have been counting all the good things which I have, to be appreciative of the support I get from friends and family and acquaintances, allowing them to make me feel better.
I should have been focusing on what I want to achieve, and to feel good helping others benefit from my normal good humour and wealth of experience.
But No….I preferred to hide myself away, and just feel plain rotten.
So what did that get me? Absolutely nothing but regrets, that’s what!
What did it achieve? Nothing but self pity. It was all a waste of time and a waste of my Life.

Often in Life, we can have these moments of regret,of unhappiness, of depression,of apathy, of Negativity…All they serve to do is waste our precious minutes, hours and years, we defeat ourselves when we allow negativity to win. There is no point in blaming others for our misfortunes either, because more often than not the solutions are in our own hands. We just simply must be assertive and take them and run with them. We feel so much the better for it too when we allow ourselves to be positive and happy.

Sometimes…We only get one chance, and if we are so down on ourselves that we refuse to take it…then we have lost that chance which we needed to take. It may never come again, and we are left instead with feelings of regret. We castigate ourselves for what might have been, had we only the positivity to have grabbed the chance when it presented itself, but It is all our own fault that we blew it!

In Autumn 2014 we in Scotland get that One Chance.
We cannot allow the Negativity of the anti independence parties to take that chance away from us.
We have waited over 300 years to see this chance, I have lived my whole life wanting this chance. We shall now have it. We cannot afford to feel negative and depressed about our country and its people, we cannot allow for the moaning minnies to win. We cannot be conned into believing that we can’t do, or that a better chance will come. No other chance will ever come, not In the rest of my Life anyway!

Please hold onto the positive, and don’t let the naysayers win.
If we let them keep us down, if we are seduced by the comfort zone of depression to win, and to leave it to others to do, or to be happier moaning about our lot and blaming the British state…Then on our own heads be it.
Our lives will just be filled with the most horrible regrets ever after if we do that.
And believe me..we will be very sad people indeed, if we are left looking back at what might have been.

Lets do this….Lets take our chance, and lets make it happen, and let us be the more positive and happy for it!

About auldacquaintance

I am not a member of any political party. I am however a strong supporter of Scots Independence. Any views which I express in this Blog are purely my own. This Blog intends to be a place where I will be putting my views on Scots Independence. It will primarily concern itself with the upcoming Referendum In Scotland. However It will also be somewhat diverse in the range of day to day issues which are evident to me in modern day Scotland. Not all of it will be political, and indeed may take me off into avenues I am not even aware of yet. Please come and join in on this journey, and any comments are welcome provided they are not abusive! All the best from a new acquaintance! Rod
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to One Chance Only

  1. Stevie says:

    That sucks dude.

    But, you have your health.

    You have your brain.

    Whatever happens, it’s always vital to focus on the good stuff, the important stuff – family, friends.

    Platitudes – no they’re not, they are the most important things in life.

    Strength and courage – something will turn up eventually.

  2. Conan the Librarian says:

    There’s always drink.

    But that’s my style of writing…

  3. Macart says:

    To say I both empathise and sympathise would be understating the issue. Same age group, similar history and I have clinical depression or rather I am in recovery. Its been 8 years since the ‘black dog’ last bit me. My company is on the verge of imploding, I’ve had a wage freeze for the past four years, my pension isn’t worth spit and I’m staring at the black hole of the dole queue unless a small miracle happens. But I won’t be going back to depression and day soon. There’s a lot of good stuff happening in my life too. A couple of great teenage kids, a wife with the patience of a saint and a country that has a chance to make a grab for the gold.

    Put it this way, I don’t see rain falling out of the sky anymore, I see resource filling our lochs and rivers. 🙂

  4. Bruce says:

    Def missed your blog, having only found it recently and being a little jealous that your blog is read and mine isn’t, not that I mind as your blog is good and mine is a total rant but helps keep me same when I bother with it. Good to have you back.

    GrumpyScottishman

  5. Dave says:

    Chin up, buddy. NNS are offering to pay people for articles so why not offer your services? Your stuff is certainly good enough – I really enjoy visiting your blog. You never know where it might lead to as well.

    Dave

    • Hi Dave, they have used two or three articles of mine in the past, but no payment, and none asked for.
      I am happy for them to use my stuff as I support what they are trying to do.

Leave a Reply

