Storm in a teacup

One problem with Scots is if we don’t have any opposition who will challenge us properly, we have a tendency to start fighting amongst ourselves.
I have noticed this tendency arise over the last few days post the Economists front cover map of Skintland, and the reaction to senior journalists in the BBC doing an in house training video for student journalists on the subject of Scottish Independence, highlighted by Newsnet Scotland, but originally seen by me on Mark MacLachlans excellent blog.
There has been claims made on Newsnet that this series of talks by Brian Taylor and co were clearly evidence of BBC Bias. Others claimed that it was no such thing, and that it was an over reaction by some nationalists.
Twitter wars ensued between nationalists over the Economist front page. Many were outraged by its insults, while others were saying its only satire, get a grip!
In recent months there has been some ill feeling developing between different stripes of nationalists, breaking down to an ‘I’m a better nationalist than you are..nya nya nya ‘ type of thing.
Others have been taking umbrage if the SNP gets questioned at all, and the questioners are tarred with the brush of being traitors to the cause.
All I would say to the lot of you is..’Get a Bloody Grip’!!
This sort of Infighting is honey to Britnat ears…They have got no real solid argument to make, but they don’t need to make it if nationalists are busy tearing strips off each other.

I am not a member of the SNP, but I am mostly happy with what they are doing. I do reserve the right to disagree when I feel it is right to disagree, they are not the font of all nationalism and all knowledge. I am not being a traitor to Independence by disagreement, so live with it!
The SNP are the best political vehicle for Independence,and if I happen to disagree on policy, then I will refrain from getting involved with criticism unless it is something which is outrageous.
Otherwise, Independence takes priority!
SNP members need to use their grey cells and keep in mind that they don’t need to defend every policy or statement like it is the Alamo too.
You don’t need to win every battle, you just need to make sure you win the war!
The way to win the war, is to work with your allies, not fight with them over small disagreements. The same applies to non SNP independence supporters.

It is when we start falling out with each other that we do the cause which is most important a huge disservice, because we give unionists the ammunition to divide and rule. They will jump on every opportunity that we give them with glee!

As far as the BBC training videos are concerned, they show holed thinking by some of their senior journalists, but nothing of outright bias, unless we are talking of Andrew Neils contribution, but we know where he stands anyway.
Brian Taylor made some incorrect assumptions, but nothing of obvious bias.

Now for that Economist front page.
Some have said that the outrage expressed at its content was over the top and lacking in the ability to laugh at humour.
I disagree…It may have been classed as satire, but it was deeply insulting and pretty lame. Why should any Scot just brush that rubbish off? I don’t think for one moment we should, It is not in any way humorous. But instead of howling about it, and shouting our outrage from the rooftops or twitter, we need to use our own ability for humour to rip it to shreds. We should respond with better than we have managed thus far. We certainly should not be falling out amongst ourselves!

After Independence, our political make up will change considerably. The SNP will not be in government forever afterwards, nor should it be.
But right now….We need to pull together, not pull ourselves apart!

About auldacquaintance

I am not a member of any political party. I am however a strong supporter of Scots Independence. Any views which I express in this Blog are purely my own. This Blog intends to be a place where I will be putting my views on Scots Independence. It will primarily concern itself with the upcoming Referendum In Scotland. However It will also be somewhat diverse in the range of day to day issues which are evident to me in modern day Scotland. Not all of it will be political, and indeed may take me off into avenues I am not even aware of yet. Please come and join in on this journey, and any comments are welcome provided they are not abusive! All the best from a new acquaintance! Rod
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Storm in a teacup

  1. Aye concur I was trying to point out that the SNP debate for the independence referendum will start AFTER THE COUNCIL ELECTIONS,10th of May I think Alex said.Now I see a lot of the divisions have been caused by the London media,who are trying to drive the proceedings.It also suits the unionist parties that we mix up the referendum message with local issues,muddy the waters and some councils may go to them and this will give them a good springboard with which to launch their No to independence.

  2. longshanker says:

    I’ve got to confess that I genuinely found the Economist cover to be funny. Not side splittingly so, but funny nevertheless. I can understand why there are feelings of insult, but I also believe that some of the best humour is insulting, almost, by definition.

    The element of the story which most surprised me was the First Minister’s reaction. I believe he’s better than that and, as you surmise, should have used characteristic wit and humour to either downplay or turn the tables on the Economist.

    I think he missed an opportunity. Which is a shame. Totally agree with you that some SNP supporters should get a bloody grip.

    • I agree…Alex has a cracking sense of humour, and I am surprised he didn’t use it here.
      I wonder if he felt that is was better to let a stushie ensue?
      Would it have got so much coverage if it was just shrugged off? I doubt it.
      But considering there was already plenty of howling, I think he took the wrong tack, and should just have taken the proverbial out of it.

Leave a Reply

