I’m Back!

After the longest week R&R in known history, I have finally made it back.
I was not kidnapped, nothing bad happened to me, I was not Ill , or any other normal excuse for my absence.
It was all very simple and annoying really.
My laptop got infected by a very nasty virus, one day into my holiday.
No matter what I did, I couldn’t get rid of it..Worse was to follow when it entirely hijacked my machine, and I could not get it to do anything whatsoever.
I then attempted a repair install with my old XP disc, unfortunately I had lost my activation code for it, and windows entirely locked me out of my own system!
I asked everyone I knew for a working activation code, as I didn’t fancy shelling out a small fortune to windows for a new disc, plus I was in danger of losing all my book files, and years of hard work.
Nobody seem to have one these days….so the outlook was indeed bleak.

After weeks of getting nowhere, I finally found a kindly computer engineer who was able to give me a working code.
Problem solved? Not a chance!
I don’t have a fixed line, I use a mobile dongle, and windows would not allow me to connect to it, in order to activate windows online.
So back to square one!
Finally today, I managed to get to a kind persons modem, and managed to activate my windows XP…..SO at last….I am up and running..Yeehah !!!

I have suffered in silence on a couple of issues in the past four weeks, and gritted my teeth at not being able to comment…
No more of that trauma….New comments from me coming soon.

About auldacquaintance

I am not a member of any political party. I am however a strong supporter of Scots Independence. Any views which I express in this Blog are purely my own. This Blog intends to be a place where I will be putting my views on Scots Independence. It will primarily concern itself with the upcoming Referendum In Scotland. However It will also be somewhat diverse in the range of day to day issues which are evident to me in modern day Scotland. Not all of it will be political, and indeed may take me off into avenues I am not even aware of yet. Please come and join in on this journey, and any comments are welcome provided they are not abusive! All the best from a new acquaintance! Rod
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I’m Back!

  1. You could have saved yourself the hasstle and ‘phoned Microsoft. They’d have given you a new key gratis, believe it or not!

    Regards

  2. Ian Sanderson says:

    Thank Gawd… at last – a bit of sanity….

  3. Ian Sanderson says:

    Have you considered Apple..?

  4. Ian Sanderson says:

    “New comments from me coming soon. ”

    Canny wait…!

  5. That sucks, happened to me before aswell, Recommend using a free software program called Malwarebytes, it will get rid of some quite nasty viruses. http://www.malwarebytes.org/products/malwarebytes_free

Leave a Reply

