Same Sex Marriage, Scotland

It seems that the news today will certainly heat up the arguments between the Religious orthodoxy and the Scottish Government.
No doubt there will be protests, but with all parties of government approving this legislation, it will pass.
The Scottish Government has made it clear that the Churches will not be obligated to conduct weddings against their will, but that was a foregone conclusion anyway, because the Church is disestablished and by Scots Law, the Government cannot interfere with the laws of the Church.
It will be entirely up to the churches themselves if they are prepared to conduct such marriage ceremonies. At present, the Catholic Church and the Church of Scotland and a number of other churches,will not so allow.
So in the main, same sex marriage will have to take place in the registrars office in a civil ceremony. So nothing really changes all that much between civil partnership and marriage for them. At least any time soon.

Even if these Churches did consent, that would only be step one of the journey, a number of their ministers or priests may choose not to marry any same sex couple,as is their right to choose. They have the same choice when marrying heterosexual couples.
With the Catholic Church the decision would be made hierarchically and the decision passed down, with the priest having to obey the ruling,with no personal choice permitted.
With the Church of Scotland, they are still fighting amongst themselves,at the point of schism, over whether to allow gay ministers,having already appointed an openly gay one.
Their decision would be made in consultation with their presbyteries and churches at General Assembly. It will be next May before they make any decision on this matter.

I know that the Quakers and my own church, The United Reformed Church have signalled their approval.
The United Reformed Church in General Assembly passed a motion to allow churches to be used for ceremonies celebrating same sex marriage in the UK as of last month, and for when the legislation was allowed in law. It this instance, their decision was to leave the choice as matter of religious principle for each of their ministers, which is in line with the norm for Heterosexual marriages. A minister may choose to marry someone or not,and the decision is entirely up to them and of their own free will.

So it looks like I may be faced with that choice fairly soon!

The legislation will clearly pass, as it has the support of all parties, but goodness knows what that will do for the Tories and labour, who have both been courting the Orange Order recently! I think they will find that this most fundamentally extreme protestant group, will not approve of their support for the legislation!

What happens next? This proposed legislation will be put to the vote in the Scottish Parliament, and it will sail through. It is only a matter of time from there until it becomes law.

Times are a Changing as Bob Dylan once sang.

If you want to ask me any questions on this matter, feel free to ask.

About auldacquaintance

I am not a member of any political party. I am however a strong supporter of Scots Independence. Any views which I express in this Blog are purely my own. This Blog intends to be a place where I will be putting my views on Scots Independence. It will primarily concern itself with the upcoming Referendum In Scotland. However It will also be somewhat diverse in the range of day to day issues which are evident to me in modern day Scotland. Not all of it will be political, and indeed may take me off into avenues I am not even aware of yet. Please come and join in on this journey, and any comments are welcome provided they are not abusive! All the best from a new acquaintance! Rod
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Same Sex Marriage, Scotland

  1. I have been married for quite some time now,and I was married as a teenager,in a church,(1970) but was divorced a few years later,met my wife (now) 1974 and we ran away together and been together ever since,got a civil marriage 1977.I was once of the Catholic church but have not believed in a god since I was about 15/16,so I look at the churches argument,for not allowing marriage between two people of the same sex,with mixed feelings.As for me the church part is no longer a concern (my first marriage was to please family) but if people want to have a church wedding I see no reason why they cant,but for the peace of all cant some enterprising gay minister set up their own church?Does all the love that they preach come with conditions? as for me I love my wife,my children and my grandchildren all of them without any pre-conditions,if there was a god would that god not be better than me?

Leave a Reply

