Scottish Labour MP makes Call for Independence

Today, remarkable news has come my way via Hansard, that the Labour MP for Ayrshire and Arran,Katy Clark, has tabled a question in the House of Commons today, in support of self determination,and wishing to know if that self determination will also mean Independence?
This is indeed a remarkable turn of events, and wholly unsuspected. I like many others were under the impression that Labour was entirely against any form of self determination, and certainly not supportive of Independence.
So this breathtaking news, just proves that I have sorely misjudged them, and thus must submit my apologies for my error of judgement,and getting my facts slightly wrong. Otherwise I may find them calling for my blogging head on a platter,and demanding I resign forthwith from my blog.
This obviously, I would like to avoid. So therefore make this contrite statement of apology for my error,and ask that they forgive me the error of my ways. I shall endeavour to do much better in the future.

The only thing that slightly confuses me is why the rest of the honourable ladies friends in her party,and across the floor of the House of Commons are not up in arms at such a break within their Better Together(NO) campaign? It is indeed very strange days indeed.
Why are they not all up on their feet shouting and waving their bits of paper about,proclaiming loudly that that this self determination is wholly unacceptable.
Surely this country has so little going for it? will the main resource,although massively abundant, not surely be scattered by the wind? The fluctuations of the conditions, surely must mean that it cannot be relied upon to remain much longer? Is this not utter foolishness. Once this vast quantity is gone, what can be done to ensure survival? It all seems increasingly suspect,but there we have it.
The Western Sahara must sure have its self determination, even if their sand runs out.

The written questions in yesterdays Hansard read as follows:

“Katy Clark (North Ayrshire and Arran, Labour)

To ask the Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs pursuant to the answer of 17 September 2012, Official Report, column 470W, on Western Sahara, whether the right to self-determination includes an option of independence.”

“Alistair Burt (Parliamentary Under Secretary of State (Afghanistan/South Asia, counter terrorism/proliferation, North America, Middle East and North Africa), Foreign and Commonwealth Office; North East Bedfordshire, Conservative)

The UK is strongly supportive of the UN-led process which aims to encourage the parties to the Western Sahara dispute to reach a lasting and mutually acceptable political solution that provides for the self-determination of the people of Western Sahara.”

Hansard

About auldacquaintance

I am not a member of any political party. I am however a strong supporter of Scots Independence. Any views which I express in this Blog are purely my own. This Blog intends to be a place where I will be putting my views on Scots Independence. It will primarily concern itself with the upcoming Referendum In Scotland. However It will also be somewhat diverse in the range of day to day issues which are evident to me in modern day Scotland. Not all of it will be political, and indeed may take me off into avenues I am not even aware of yet. Please come and join in on this journey, and any comments are welcome provided they are not abusive! All the best from a new acquaintance! Rod
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Scottish Labour MP makes Call for Independence

  1. Tris says:

    It’s ok for them…. They are not British.

Leave a Reply

