Yes..No …Maybe?

The YES campaign needs to UP its game.
I can see what they are doing, playing things steadily and quietly and focussing on the positive.
That is all well and good… But they are also giving the impression of being unsure, lacking in confidence, and forever being reactive on the back foot.
It is time for this to stop!
They don’t need to go full blast yet…that would not be beneficial, as they need to get their timing right to coincide with peaking on the 18th September 2014. But they do need to show more confidence, they need to be more assertive,and they need to start taking the fight back to the No.Better Together campaign…They should not be expecting the opposition to forever make a mess of things.
As has been pointed out recently, they are not making any discernible impact on the public opinion.
Indeed, the longer this drags on, folks will have a negative perception of their ability and thus a lack of confidence in being able to be Independent….Perception Is everything ,and once formed, can be a devil to shift.
It is one thing spreading what they think is a positive message, but its no damn good if those who need to hear it, are not getting it!
Yes..there has been much made of the fact that they are making this a ground campaign, and reaching out to all the communities in Scotland…but are they really just mostly preaching to the converted?

One thing I learned in my previous life….You cannot wait for people to come to you…You must go where they are!
In effect, not so much the public hall meetings, but more like round the pubs, clubs, round tables, and a whole host of organisational meetings.
I tried my damnedest to try and get YES to speak to me late last year, I offered to give them the benefit of my experience at least on three occasions..but frankly they were not interested. Fair enough.
But it looks like somebody has got to get through to them, and I dont care who it is… There are those who are not foot soldiers, but can lend their knowledge, let them do it!

But right now….I want to see a bit more bite from YES, because they are giving a good impression of being ineffectual. Sort It!!!

About auldacquaintance

I am not a member of any political party. I am however a strong supporter of Scots Independence. Any views which I express in this Blog are purely my own. This Blog intends to be a place where I will be putting my views on Scots Independence. It will primarily concern itself with the upcoming Referendum In Scotland. However It will also be somewhat diverse in the range of day to day issues which are evident to me in modern day Scotland. Not all of it will be political, and indeed may take me off into avenues I am not even aware of yet. Please come and join in on this journey, and any comments are welcome provided they are not abusive! All the best from a new acquaintance! Rod
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Yes..No …Maybe?

  1. Dave Coull says:

    “the longer this drags on”……………that’s the trouble. For over 8 years, I have advocated holding a referendum on independence without delay. And of course it’s perfectly feasible to legislate for, organise, and hold, a referendum, within a time period of six months. I advocated a referendum without delay when Jack McConnell was First Minister. I advocated a referendum without delay in 2007 when Alex Salmond took over as First Minister. And I could see, and still can see, no good reason for delaying the vote until September 2014. The reason it is “dragging on” is because of the completely unnecessary delay.

    • My use of ” the longer this drags on” was not in reference to the time frame of the programme to referendum day,Dave.
      Although I know you have been of your opinion with regards to when the referendum was taking place for quite some time.
      I tend to think that they have needed all this time, and there is no chance whatsoever that Labour would have allowed a referendum on it…They obstructed it for long enough.
      In 2007 the SNP with a minority administration of 1 over Labour would not have been able the push it through, as Labour/Conservative and Lib Dem together, far outweighed them. The vote would have fallen.
      from what have seen thus far, I would say that the longer campaign is the wisest choice, because I am not at all convinced that an early referendum in this parliament would have succeeded.
      I feel that the Unionist parties felt the same, because they were desperate for it to be called immediately.
      My use of ” the longer this drags on” Is in relation to how the YES campaign are not taking positive action..They are talking about talking positively, but not at all acting in a positive manner.

  2. helentyates says:

    Completely agree with you, this is my worry too that they are depending too much on the foot soldiers, It really is time for them to get more vocal because people are being turned off by the whole thing

  3. Marian says:

    The unionist controlled BBC and MSM have allowed the Better Together mob to drag the debate down into the gutter with their daily insults and “ye cannae dae that” stories rather than engaging in a proper informed debate in the hope that Scots will become scunnered with the whole issue.
    Better Together campaign has, so far, made a very successful play of dragging the independence debate away from grand visions and into the minutiae that switch voters off in droves. It ties in with their other tactic of eliding SNP policy with what an independent Scotland may or may not do. The No campaign wants to bore Scottish voters into submission, or into not voting at all. So far, it’s a strategy that’s paying dividends.

    • I absolutely agree with that Marian… The last thing that either Better Together or the BBC and the rest of the MSM want is an open and honest debate.
      And no amount of online protest will do anything to alter that state of affairs. The only way that we can counter that, is to make people aware of what is going on.
      Its no easy thing to do either, but we can but try.
      Its also one reason that I am getting out from behind my keyboard and speaking at the BARD2014 rally next Saturday..
      I am sure it wont make the BBC change its ways, and allow for fair and balanced coverage, but hopefully it will help word to spread.

Leave a Reply

