If Better Together, it’s Better being Honest

I have noted that many opponents of Scottish Independence appear to do so with some vague loyalty to the British flag. They claim to be British, and don’t want to stop being British. The language of Separation looms large in their vocabulary. I cannot make head nor tale what their reasoning is, but they are perfectly entitled to their view. I keep looking for evidence that we really are served better by this political union, but I fail to find that evidence. Nor has anyone managed to convince me that they have a cogent argument for such a view.

If Scotland should vote NO to Scottish Independence in 2014, then I will just have to accept that as the will of the majority of the Scottish people, and grit my teeth as I prepare for what is to inevitably follow.
A No vote will also persuade me that my confidence in the majority of my fellow Scots has been badly misplaced, and that a NO vote is indeed the correct decision to make, simply on the grounds that the majority don’t have the ability or the vision to make Scotland a better fairer and aspiring society for us all.
If we do not have the courage and conviction to believe in ourselves, if we cannot aspire to better than what we are served with now, then we are a poor reflection on ourselves,never mind the country we belong to, and we will deserve all that is coming to us as a result.

In no realistic sense can Scotland as part of the union, ever aspire to influence Westminster, by mere dint of population and of representation, it would be a case of the tip of the tail wagging the dog.
London alone has a greater population than the whole of Scotland with over 8.2 million in comparison to the whole of Scotland at 5.2 million.
It doesn’t matter which political party Scotland votes for either, it makes no difference to how we are governed. Even when Labour was actually worthy of the its name, it mattered not when we sent all our Labour MPs down there in opposition, they were absolutely powerless and feeble and could not prevent our industry being dismantled under successive Tory governments. The current lot either abstain, or have actually been responsible for the shit hole we are in now, and introduced the hated measures being taken against the poorest in society.

In effect, vote NO to an Independent Scotland and you may as well embrace this manufactured concept of Britishness and wave by bye to our country.

If we really want to be be British, then be British entirely.
Which means that the Westminsters recent government paper stating that Scotland ceased to exist and was taken over in the Acts of Union in 1707 is in fact true. Scotland no longer exists as country and is instead a small region of Greater Britain.

So a vote No and vote to be Better Together, means that we should stop kidding ourselves, and those who ardently support the British flag and being British, should do so honestly and be British.
In effect…embrace the union jack and ditch the saltire, do away with our Scotland football team and be part of Team GB, ditch our separate laws and education,and health service, do away with our devolved government. Be British and accept that Scotland as a country is no more and but a relic of the past.

If we are such a feeble people, then let others decide our fate for us, but stop moaning about it, because we will have given up the right to say that we are Scottish and are somehow different.
Don’t try to kid on we are Scottish and British, being Scottish will have no more regional relevance than being from Yorkshire, Lancashire or Somerest.

So if you are happy with giving your allegiance to a British flag, and the British state, and all that…then go ahead! Don’t be surprised if an old Highland Scot like myself looks at you with pity though, for I and such as I will be in mourning that we should have come to this.

About auldacquaintance

I am not a member of any political party. I am however a strong supporter of Scots Independence. Any views which I express in this Blog are purely my own. This Blog intends to be a place where I will be putting my views on Scots Independence. It will primarily concern itself with the upcoming Referendum In Scotland. However It will also be somewhat diverse in the range of day to day issues which are evident to me in modern day Scotland. Not all of it will be political, and indeed may take me off into avenues I am not even aware of yet. Please come and join in on this journey, and any comments are welcome provided they are not abusive! All the best from a new acquaintance! Rod
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to If Better Together, it’s Better being Honest

  1. We might look with pity, but we might also look on in anger. The BBC and the British state will have defeated democracy, crushed the Scots. Mugged the people, conned them again, made them stupid.

  2. My wife and I will be angry – and desolate.
    Scotland will be hammered by an uncaring Westminster and we will probably emigrate rather than live in a non-country.

  3. panda paws says:

    I’m with Andy I’d be angry and desolate of Scotland votes No. Whilst I sympathise with the sentiments of the post, what has to be remembered is the actions of Westminster’s propanganda division aka MSM. If both sides of the argument received equal coverage and critical analysis, Yes would be a landslide. I’m not sure I blame low info voters for falling for the gloom and doom merchants, given the overalling bias of the media. That’s why for the first time over I’m on the campaign trail, trying to get across the alternative..

  4. Tris says:

    I too will be angry, not because people have chosen, but because they have done so based on the lies told by people with something to gain by staying in the union,

    People like Jim Murphy, or Margaret Curran who clearly have hopes of being big cheeses in a big cheese government of a big cheese country with a seat on the Security Council and the 4th largest military spend in the world after USA, Russia and China.

    People like Alistair Darling and Gordon Brown with a hope for a seat in the house of lords and £300+ a day together with the opportunity to earn as much money as they can nobble by being a noble lobbyist.

    I loathe what Britain has become. The most divided country (between rich and poor) in Europe… nearly 5:1 compared with the nearest competitor for the title, at 2:1

    The only country in Europe to have negative growth over the last 30 years.

    A country where everything is done for the sake of London, and the devil take the rest of us.

    (No one of any import lives outside London.)

    No, I too will be tempted to look for a new life in Norway or Iceland. There will be little point in staying here. There is little likelihood of another referendum for 25 years, by which time the poor will be eating earth.

    And I have a feeling that there will be plenty of anger in the country. Those who voted to make something of the country will be angry with the lies and the liars that persuaded people to vote to stay poor and downtrodden.

    I can see years of a very unhappy country stamped on by London, secure in the knowledge that they can do whatever they want to the stupid jocks and they will simply sit there and take it.

    • Dave Coull says:

      From my point of view, there are only three possible results from the referendum next year. The first result, the one that I think will actually happen, is a decisive majority for YES. That will result in negotiations for an early implementation of independence. The second possible result, one which I consider far less likely, is a narrow majority for YES. That might make the negotiations a bit more difficult, but it would still lead to independence by March 2016. The third possible outcome, the one that I think least likely, would be a very narrow win for NO. In practice, the very narrowness of such a result, and the growing realisation of how it had been achieved by fraudulent means, would result in nothing being settled. (These are the three possibilities. I simply don’t believe that a decisive win for NO is possible at all, not in this universe.) So, just suppose, hypothetically, it was the third of these results. Would that be a reason for emigrating to Norway or Iceland or somewhere else? Not as far as I’m concerned! From my point of view, you give up too easily.

  5. Marian says:

    Once again Westminster has fought a dirty tricks campaign against an independence movement who have played strictly by the rules, they did it in Ireland throughout the 18th century and India throughout the first half of the 19th century. The BBC and newspapers news management antics have also reached a new low for democracy and proved them to be nothing more than a propaganda instrument of the Westminster political establishment. If history teaches us anything then we can also be absolutely certain that the British security services are actively engaged in trying to destroy the YES campaign and the SNP government of Scotland.

    They have done this without a care in the world for what damage it has done to relations between Scotland and England and what dire repercussions their methods may bring about if they win when people later realise how they were cheated and lied to as we saw in Ireland and India when Westminster cheated them out of obtaining independence by democratic means.

    This is a monumental challenge for the YES campaign to overcome but I still believe that the YES campaigns dogged adherence to telling the honest truth will win a YES vote in the end.

  6. Dave Coull says:

    This stuff about “an old Highland Scot” looking with pity is nonsense. There is ZERO evidence that folk in the Highland region are any more “patriotic” than folk in the rest of the country.

    Apart from that, the thing I find most questionable about this article is its implied pessimism. Do you seriously think there is a possibility that Scotland as whole is going to vote NO? I don’t!

    Stop believing the propaganda! That’s all it is, there is no real, scientific evidence to back it up.

    Not even all Unionists are taken in by Unionist propaganda. A Unionist former prime minister of Canada, Mr Chretien, has warned them against being lulled into complacency by the comforting “poll data”. He pointed out that, two weeks before a referendum in Quebec, the “polls” said 63 percent NO, and only 37 percent YES. The actual result of that referendum couldn’t have been closer, it was 50 and a fraction NO to 49 and a fraction YES.

    Now, Scotland is a very different place. It is an ancient kingdom, whereas Quebec has never been independent, it’s merely what is left of the old French colony of Canada. And there are, in Quebec, claims to substantial parts of the province from native peoples who were there before any white man, whether French-speaking or English speaking, got there. Here in Scotland, we ARE the indigenous peoples. But there is one thing we can learn from the Quebec experience.

    The so-called “opinion polls” are a load of rubbish. Ignore them. There is only ONE poll. It is not due to be held until the 18th of September next year.

    • You seem to have entirely misunderstood and/or misread my article Dave.
      As to this Old Highland Scot, I am referring to myself!
      And I have plenty of evidence on what I think!

  7. Interesing blog and one that I must say I agree with most of. However, I really love the enthusiasm and belief of Dave. I think the result will be a very close no as things stand right now but accept a lot will change before next Autumn within the whole debate. There will be savage cuts that will get some people thinking up here, Labour will continue to implode, not that that is a bad thing by any means. The European Elections will give a very strong indication as to what the voters are thinking, esp down south. But I do agree that if Scotland were to vote NO in large numbers then for me we deserve all that we will get, let’s dump the saltire, the parliament etc because we will be British. I would go as far as ending the seperate rugby, football teams etc. If the majority want to be British then they have to go for it big time and Scotland will truly have died as a period in history for the occasional book and film, a bit of shorty at new year.

    I will never accept being British but I will also stop being Scottish. I will just accept that I am man without a country in many ways, I will cease to be interested or involved in any politics in Scotland , I might leave but if I stay then I will do my best for my kids and family, will encourage my kids to leave as soon as they can and not look back. Find someplace that they can call home because lets be clear Britain is dying, there are us and them and you might as well build a big fucking wall around London because that is what a NO will mean. We will have surrendered to the rich and what they have fought for for hundreds of years will come about and they will have victory and fuck the rest of us. The Windsors(Mountbattens) will have won, the posh will have won and the poor will have given up. Sad.

    Bruce

    Will fight for a YES though as long as I can.

Leave a Reply

