miscellaneous

At a time when our MPs and Msps are mostly all in holiday mode, its a bit of a dry season for commentary on the Scottish independence debate. So I will be watching Andy Murrays progress in the Wimbledon semi finals today. He certainly made things interesting in his last match!
I will of course be watching the crowd coverage too from good old aunty beeb.
It was amusing to note the other day, that many of their crowd shots reflected how they perceived Andy to be doing. during the first two sets when he struggled, there were more crowd shots of those sporting Scottish symbols and the saltire. As he made a comeback, and after good plays, the crowd shots picked out the union jack brigade. It really was a symbolic version of Scottish if he loses or is doing badly, and British when he wins or is playing well.

On other events, we have the continuing saga of Labours internal warfare over candidate selection in Falkirk. A huge bust up between their biggest Union backer(Unite) and the Labour leadership who have given up on the common worker. What it clearly spells out is that Labour are at breaking point. They lose either way, no matter who wins the squabble. Johann Lamonts position as Scottish Labour leader, entirely in control of Labour in Scotland, has also been shown up to be utterly false. The whole business in falkirk is being argued out and run by London, she has had no say whatsoever in the unseemly infighting.
How will it all pan out? I suspect that if relationships deteriorate any further, we may finally see the unions pulling their funding from Labour, as Labour is no longer representative of their wishes or needs. Indeed Labour have gone so far to the right as to be anti trade union in their policies now. Something has got to give at some point,and I believe we may be coming close to breaking point.

Finally…. I received news the other day which caused me both confusion and amusement.
I was informed that the BIS Press Office added me and AYE4Scotland to their list Bispressoffice/scotland-analysis
Firstly the confusion….Who the hell are the BIS Press Office?
It turns out that BIS is a British Government Department: the Department for Business, Innovation and Skills Press Office,1 Victoria Street London.
My amusement? I had no idea that Vince Cable was such a great fan of mine.
Hi Vince, I hope you enjoy todays article, Its only fair that as your press office likes me so much, that I should give you a name check in return. Please feel free to comment on any of my articles, don’t be shy…..

However fair is fair… And while I advertise my AA articles on Aye4Scotland, I have to give huge credit to my trusted lieutenant who plays a far greater role in managing and maintaining the Aye4Scotland twitter account and in promoting my articles….I am rather a twitterphobe…140 characters will never be enough for me….not when I have 1000 words to write .. And there will be several thousand more before next September yet to come.

Oh…and just one more wee thing I saw which speaks for itself…

942343_217113645109459_1734440541_n

About auldacquaintance

I am not a member of any political party. I am however a strong supporter of Scots Independence. Any views which I express in this Blog are purely my own. This Blog intends to be a place where I will be putting my views on Scots Independence. It will primarily concern itself with the upcoming Referendum In Scotland. However It will also be somewhat diverse in the range of day to day issues which are evident to me in modern day Scotland. Not all of it will be political, and indeed may take me off into avenues I am not even aware of yet. Please come and join in on this journey, and any comments are welcome provided they are not abusive! All the best from a new acquaintance! Rod
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to miscellaneous

  1. DACN says:

    I would suggest that the scottish symbols & saltires had been brought by individual members of the crowd; but someone had been dishing out lots of the small union jacks that were being waved….

Leave a Reply

