Better Together wheels out new political economic expert

In a major blow to Alex Salmond and the YES campaign, Better Together wheeled out a major expert to decry Scottish Independence.

The following are direct quotes attributed to them.

“I am a proud, patriotic Scot, passionate about my heritage and my country. But I am not a nationalist.

“We have still been able to retain our proud identity whilst being a part of Britain.

“I share many of the same concerns that other folk do with regards to independence.”

““Economically, the costs of change will be vast and money that should be directed into important areas like hospitals, schools and the vulnerable in society will be swallowed by bureaucracy.

“Many people are struggling to make ends meet — how will they cope if prices escalate because of this change?”

““Welfare helps many of the most vulnerable in society. I don’t believe you should break what’s working.

“Then there’s the question of the military — what will become of the regiments?

“Another concern is there is nothing in place with regards to the EU, plus there is the question of our currency.

“We should remain a part of Great Britain and instead of wasting money on this change, we should put it into the areas that need it the most.”

Who is this expert which Better Together thinks will strike such fear into the YES campaign?

Drum Roll Please!!!……..

None other than Britains Got Talent finalist ……Susan Boyle.

Talented singer as she may be, she has never struck me as such a deep thinker.

Did she really say these words attributed to her??

In my best Victor Meldrew voice… I DO NOT BELIEVE IT!

For Better Together to use someone who has mild learning difficulties in this way is frankly disgraceful!
How much lower can they go?
I suspect we shall find out in due course, but its nauseous seeing them scraping the bottom of the barrel as it is.

Sun–SuBo

About auldacquaintance

I am not a member of any political party. I am however a strong supporter of Scots Independence. Any views which I express in this Blog are purely my own. This Blog intends to be a place where I will be putting my views on Scots Independence. It will primarily concern itself with the upcoming Referendum In Scotland. However It will also be somewhat diverse in the range of day to day issues which are evident to me in modern day Scotland. Not all of it will be political, and indeed may take me off into avenues I am not even aware of yet. Please come and join in on this journey, and any comments are welcome provided they are not abusive! All the best from a new acquaintance! Rod
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Better Together wheels out new political economic expert

  1. Clare Gallagher says:

    This has to be the lowest stunt yet! Are they seriously thinking this will help undecideds,to vote no? Personally, I think this stunt will have most of them in stitches!! No disrespect to MS Boyle! But she doesn’t strike me as being very politically saavy! Just goes to show how desperate the bitters are!

    • Robert says:

      How patronising can you get? So Susan does not have a degree in economics. So what neither do I. However ,she makes a valid point. How long and how much will this divorce cost? Methinks billions – and who will benefit ? Not the taxpayer, but rather the ‘Legal Eagles’ No surpise there. I think Ms Boyle may be more ‘savvy’ than you think!

  2. I think to use Susan Boyle is a mistake that will haunt them later,not just a mistake but Susan is a wonderful singer and has a beautiful voice,but she has been shown to be easily manipulate,to her loss sometimes.I think most people will see this as an abuse of the woman,and may make others aware of how deep they have sunk.

  3. Richard Lucas says:

    Perhaps I’m being cynical, but I believe #BetterTogether think that they have set an elephant trap here. They expect Vile Cybernats to pour abuse upon this unfortunate woman’s head. Perhaps they willl even invent a Vile Cybernat for the purpose. They then expect to be able to make pious coments about the deplorable conduct of said Vile Cybernat(s) to the disadvantage of the #Yes campaign. Subo’s thoughts are her own – they require no comment.

  4. Ian S says:

    Totally agree Rod, & with the two comments above….

  5. Bruce Hosie says:

    I am sure they will get a lot lower.

  6. Aye to manipulate the woman is not the best idea that they have came up with (I’m a nice person)

Leave a Reply

