Clutha

Clutha

Let us pause a moment on Saint Andrews day
To spare a thought for those gone away
Beneath the timbers exposed by night sky
and the iron bird which could no longer fly
The heroic pilot who dumped the fuel
with life flying fast from a fate so cruel
To all who rushed towards the scene
Before the sounds of the sirens scream
To all who formed a human chain
while others dug through a roofs remains
To service people working through the night
the shelter givers offering food warmth and light
The hospitals with extra staff to call
to tend the wounded and heal them all
The ones who stood and comfort gave
to all the victims who could be saved
and the last word goes to all that grieve
stunned in silent shock of the bereaved
How cruel fate can be sometimes
Where no kind words can ease the mind
In silence then, I bow my head with thee
while Glasgow stands in solidarity……
..

Rod Macfarlane

About auldacquaintance

I am not a member of any political party. I am however a strong supporter of Scots Independence. Any views which I express in this Blog are purely my own. This Blog intends to be a place where I will be putting my views on Scots Independence. It will primarily concern itself with the upcoming Referendum In Scotland. However It will also be somewhat diverse in the range of day to day issues which are evident to me in modern day Scotland. Not all of it will be political, and indeed may take me off into avenues I am not even aware of yet. Please come and join in on this journey, and any comments are welcome provided they are not abusive! All the best from a new acquaintance! Rod
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Clutha

  1. Lovely poem many thanks, brought tears to my eyes.

  2. The Clutha vaults has been my local on and off for yrs the last three yrs mostly aw but for a few hours late at work me & friend would have been there nephew stopped working there few weeks ago but still covered for friends there an institutional part of my life and friends thoughts prays love to all involved in disaster and a big thank you to emergency services #clutha

Leave a Reply

