Coming Home

Over the Christmas/New Year period I found myself having a telephone conversation with an exiled Scot in Australia. He was asking me why Scots abroad could not vote in the referendum, and felt that the vast majority of the diaspora would win the YES campaign by themselves if they were allowed to vote.
I told him that I could certainly sympathise with the plight of exiled Scots in this regard, but managing such a vote would be extremely complicated if not entirely unmanageable. So like it or not, if anyone wants to vote in the referendum on the 18th of September then they would have to be domiciled and registered to vote in Scotland.

As things stand, it turns out that he intends to come home to stay in July, and he will certainly be voting YES.

This conversation stirred up another question though, and that is, when is the latest that a person can register to vote in time for the referendum? This information proved harder to find than I would have imagined, but find out I did.
We all know that the electoral register is updated annually, and every household gets a form in November of each year. In November we all received these forms and an additional form for youngsters who will be 16 by September 18th to allow them to have their say too.
But what folks might not know is that you can register at any time throughout the year.
This information may be vital for Scots returning home to Scotland this year, and in their being able to vote in the referendum.
So if you know of anyone wanting to come back, please let them know that as long as they are domiciled in Scotland with their main residence here, the very latest that they can be on the electoral role is midnight on the 3rd of September, if they want to vote in the referendum. After that point they will not be eligible to vote in the referendum.

So spread the word folks….. There may be more returning Scots this year that could make a huge difference to Scotlands future.

Register by 3rd September!! You can do so online or by post!

Register to Vote On line:
Register to Vote

It is also possible to vote even if you have no fixed address by visiting your nearest electoral registration office in person and filling in a form.

About auldacquaintance

I am not a member of any political party. I am however a strong supporter of Scots Independence. Any views which I express in this Blog are purely my own. This Blog intends to be a place where I will be putting my views on Scots Independence. It will primarily concern itself with the upcoming Referendum In Scotland. However It will also be somewhat diverse in the range of day to day issues which are evident to me in modern day Scotland. Not all of it will be political, and indeed may take me off into avenues I am not even aware of yet. Please come and join in on this journey, and any comments are welcome provided they are not abusive! All the best from a new acquaintance! Rod
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Coming Home

  1. Kate says:

    Never knew this, & it is something you would have thought the YES campaign would have made sure people DID know about. Good to see you back Rod, hope 2014 brings everything you wished for your way.

  2. Brotyboy says:

    Thanks for this; my brother is intending coming home to vote Yes and this is a help.

  3. panda paws says:

    excellent piece of detective work. I’ll circulate elsewhere.

  4. Back in the pages,glad to see your here,and I will add my thanks to your detective work and in bringing it up for the registration of voters.I did however hear last year that a number of folk were going to come over from N.I. to register to vote in the referendum,and this being published may have a neutralising effect on that amount of folk “visiting” from N.I.We do have a country to “fight” vote for.

  5. I have updated my post now with a link for online registration. It is interesting to note that you can also register to vote even if you have no fixed address.

  6. Ian Robertson says:

    So can you explain to me why a whole load of people who don’t live in the country should have a say in probably the most important decision Scottish Residents will ever have to make?

  7. I am hoping it is not quite that simple, because what is to stop bettertogether flooding the country with people from other areas for a few months? I know that Alan Cumming is not getting the vote even though he wanted to, and got a flat here, because his main residence is in the USA. Would be interesting to know how they check up on people.

    • As far as i know Alan Cumming is getting to vote, having already got property here…not sure who has said otherwise?
      The problem anyone has to face is if they are registering only for the purpose of voting, they will be investigated for electoral fraud, with very severe penalties should they get caught out.
      But as a far as I know, from the rules as they stand, it is fairly straightforward to register, and yes….it is open to abuse unfortunately.

  8. David Mcneil says:

    I am sure the rules are that you must of lived and registered six months before the vote in September 2014.The person that mentioned people from Northern Ireland coming across to vote is wrong.they canny dae that. YES all the way….!!!

  9. Thanks for the reply, and I love your blogs, hope you do lots more this year. I read on Alan Cumming’s twitter account that he would not be getting a vote because his main residence is in New York. I think he was disappointed about it. I certainly hope that they do check up on any people committing fraud, but my overall wish is that the YES vote becomes so strong that there is nothing they will be able to do to stop it :).

  10. Truth says:

    My understanding is that in order to be domiciled in Scotland you have to be living here for a period of three years. This is how English students studying in Scotland will pay the first three years fees, but get the fourth year paid by the Scottish taxpayer.

    So far as I understand the same goes for being eligible to vote in the referendum. I’m not sure anyone coming to live in Scotland now will be eligible at all as they will have left it too late. I do hope I am wrong, but perhaps you could check this out.

    Having said all that, I’m not sure how they’d go about checking anyway.

Leave a Reply

