Project Fear feel the Fear

A couple of things which appear on first sight to be unrelated, but I feel there is a definite correlation between the two, have come across my radar in recent days.

Firstly, there is the extensive Cybernat bashing by the Daily Mail.
Secondly, there have been two findings, the Scottish Attitudes survey,and the survey done by ICM which have both shown a very definite movement in the trend towards YES in the referendum voting intentions.
And lastly, the outing of the BBC and ITV for broadcast bias against Independence.

Throw into that mix John Barrownans desperate effort for Better Together in their Burns Night celebration which was nothing more than a series of decidedly lame jokes against Alex Salmond, the SNP, and the Scottish government, and what do we sense? Panic! Better Together are decidedly spooked that they are losing this, and they have nothing else to offer, other than continual repetitions of recycled and debunked scare stories, or nasty personal attacks.

So far gone are they, that despite the afore mentioned massive advantage of having the broadcast media and the print media in their pockets, they are seriously getting out gunned on the ground, and on the Internet.. Thus their attempts to demonise ordinary Scots who we can collectively call the Cybernats.

With the surveys showing the trend going against them, they have to do something, so who better to call on but the Daily Mail, that ragbag of extremist right wing views owned by a Tory tax avoiding exiled Lord.
I wonder how proud Labours Scottish supporters are to find one of their own(Kazia Dugdale) joining the tories by writing for that trash mag. Who would have credited that we would see Labour and Tories so completely and openly in cahoots, and their common cause, agitating against Scots Independence.

Don’t get me wrong here, my disgust at the Daily Mail, is not because I agree with online bullying, because lets face it, it does go on, and is entirely wrong!
A friend of mine who says that he is undecided as yet, has made it very plain that he has been subjected to abusive comments for daring to ask hard questions on Independence, now that is something which can only be counter productive, no matter how passionate you feel, the argument must be made using proper debate, and on the whole I feel this is what the YES side have striven to do. Most of the attacks and abuse that I have seen has come from unionist supporters, and this the Daily Mail and the Unionist politicians singularly refuse to acknowledge.

The real reason behind this picking on Cybernats, is pure fear of them by Better Together, they recognise that individuals expressing their opinions is far more of a threat to them than any politicians interventions. So they must be attacked and culled.

So fellow Cybernats….keep up the pressure….but do it fairly, we have them scared and on the run! The debate can only be won by reasoned argument, and Better Together have yet to come up with a positive reason why Scotland should remain, thus their lack of any other weapons other than spreading Fear and uncertainty, and vilification of people and parties who individually and/or collectively argue for a better future for Scotland as an Independent people and Nation.

I feel very much that the tipping point has been reached,they know it, we should know it too, and the momentum will now carry us to Independence this year. I would lay a bet on it, and I am not a betting man.

Scotland shall be independent once more, YES we Will!

About auldacquaintance

I am not a member of any political party. I am however a strong supporter of Scots Independence. Any views which I express in this Blog are purely my own. This Blog intends to be a place where I will be putting my views on Scots Independence. It will primarily concern itself with the upcoming Referendum In Scotland. However It will also be somewhat diverse in the range of day to day issues which are evident to me in modern day Scotland. Not all of it will be political, and indeed may take me off into avenues I am not even aware of yet. Please come and join in on this journey, and any comments are welcome provided they are not abusive! All the best from a new acquaintance! Rod
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Project Fear feel the Fear

  1. James Coleman says:

    “So fellow Cybernats….keep up the pressure….but do it fairly,”

    But do NOT be afraid to disparage opponents who are telling or writing lies or attempting to misinform in the debate.

  2. Anne Muir says:

    Yes I do Agree that it should be done fair ,wish the BBC and STV would do the same ,also
    I think you are right I find more people are leaning towards yes vote ,But I also find the ones
    Who say no when asked have not read into why ,so what can be done about these people
    As this is far to Important not to read about it .

    I am working in a large General hospital ,and I ask people all the time and from last year it has
    Improved a lot .

    But we need to do lots more so the ones. That don’t read or listen tothe news understands
    Why .

    Anne Muir

  3. Always a refreshing blog to read,well written and points made clearly.
    We do have a great deal to contend with when we have such an amount of claptrap thrown at us.This only makes us more determined and we should strive to be concise,polite and use words rather than let our anger drive the hard words,I know I am guilty of writing some bile in answer to the bile vomited at us,but now I re-read what I have written and my ire subsides enough for me to alter the phrases I wanted to fire back at them.I still have the faith in our First Minister,I am certain that he will pull enough truths at the right time to let us leap forward to the great adventure of independence.Independence is more than a ambition its a need,and not just for us Scots,but for many more people around the world,we can delivery democracy to others,by demonstrating how we do it.Always YES for Scotland.

  4. Wilma says:

    My husband and I discuss the issue of No voters. We have many friends and acquaintances in our village who are “No” voters. When we try to discuss the issues you can actually see the shutters close. If we ask a question we are told ” people who are thinking of voting “Yes” are stupid”. We have come to the conclusion that it is almost like questioning their religious belief and faith.
    We have now stopped wasting our energy on them and now concentrate on the “don’t know or maybe” voters. At least with them there is some hope of positivity.

    • You are right to focus on the undecided, they will listen. Trying to debate with an entrenched NO voter is pretty much a waste of time If you are trying to persuade them to your view.. However, I wouldn’t let them away with regurgitating claptrap if I found them trying to convince others…

      • Wilma says:

        I agree entirely. The thing is their absolute conviction. I must confess it does un- nerve me. They just do not recognize the propaganda of the MSM.

  5. Iain Lawson says:

    Good blog and bang on the money about yes supporters should campaign.

  6. Bill McLean says:

    Absolutely agree that we cybernats should, as far as possible, inhabit the high moral ground and agree that we should ignore the hard core NO. Great blog!

  7. Stevie says:

    Spot on me old China

  8. I had one interesting comment at 6am this morning from a Better Together supporter…”Gnats can’t spell can’t do maths” I wonder If I should follow the Better Together Daily Mail line and label that as Abuse?🙂

  9. YES BE A PART OF PROGRESS BE A PART YES YES YES.

    • memaw says:

      Today my son accused me of being a fundamentalist! He was in the RAF for 14 years serving Queen and country, so I realise it is difficult for him. How do I discuss the issues without coming over as too extreme? I must say that I don’t see myself as an extremist.

      • What does he mean by a fundamentalist? The definition of which is “strict adherence to the basic principles of any subject or discipline” So therefore being a staunch supporter of the union, that could be taken to be fundamentalist.
        You don’t need to be extreme, just speak honestly of the life you see around you….I can’t see any Queen dipping into her billions sharing out her wealth with the disadvantaged and impoverished….. And in case he hadn’t noticed the armed services are being demolished!

Leave a Reply

