On the Border

Here I am today, sitting close to the border between Northern Ireland and the republic of Ireland digesting yesterdays news of a YouGov poll for the Times which has caused tremors throughout the whole British establishment by telling us that YES have taken the lead in the referendum debate.
The alarm and panic shown by the responses coming through the media outlets has been palpable.

In response to this news, Westminster immediately broke electioneering rules at this stage of engagement by promising even more more powers if Scotland votes NO… Not that it has done them any good because we Scots recognise that for what it is, pure desperation and they will now promise us anything to keep us tied to the union. It wont work.
They tell us that they will give us more powers, but that is a promise not in their possession to give, even if they were at all likely to actually honour them, which they are not! They cannot offer us something which is not rightfully theirs to give.
On the 18th of September Scots will be Independent at the time when we go the ballot box, all the power is firmly held in our own hands, and we can then choose to retain it, or give it away to Westminster. We can choose to vote YES to retain our  country, our future,and our destiny in our own hands, or vote NO to give our Independence and sovereignty away to a Westminster government and yet again be dependent on what they decide is best for us in London.
Frankly I think we would be stark raving bonkers to give it away, but that is just my opinion based on what I have seen them do to Scotland in my own 56 years of life.

I don’t want to give the whole cake into their hands for them to squander, and give us back as little of it as they can get away with. I want us to have ALL of our cake, and we can then decide who to share it with, and for what purpose.
I do not want the healthy cake being used to maintain nuclear weapons, nor to see an increasing number of our children being impoverished and families reliant on food banks, when we have the resources to improve all of our lives.
I do not want that cake being used to furnish foreign wars which are none of our business, and so many of our countries young men being killed and disabled in the process.

But for the moment with 9 days to go I sit on the border.

I have been here for a family wedding, my Northern Irish niece has been married, and I have family all around me. Some of them Irish, and some Scottish.
On a straw poll taken between us, I and my partner are YES, my brother who has no vote because he has been here for 40 plus years is also a YES, my brother in law who was a No is reconsidering, and my sister remains undecided, but is listening intently.

The main concerns expressed by my sister and brother in law has been about their pensions, they have been terrified by the scare mongering of the Naws that they would lose the pension.
i have assured them, and this has been confirmed by the DWP and the Scottish government that their pensions will remain as they are either way…So vote YES or NO, they will still get their pension.
The despicable scaremonegering of the elderly by the better together mob has been utterly disgraceful and they should be ashamed of themselves.
The currency we use will be the pound, whether in a currency union or independently, much like the republic of Ireland did when they became independent. But even if we chose the shortbread or unicorn, currency is but a trading mechanism.
The other day I crossed the border from North to South, and such is the border that I didn’t even notice it, the only thing that alerted me was the different road signs.
Whilst in the south, I didn’t have any euros on me, but no problem, the petrol stations and pub still quite happily took my pounds.

People come and go every day to work between north and south, people trade happily across the border, and the people do not regard their neighbours as foreigners. So yet more scare stories put to bed.

If you want to see how life goes on for folks after Independence, come to Ireland.

My brother showed me an article in the Belfast Telegraph which said that thousands of Orange men were planning on going over to Scotland to march against our Independence in Edinburgh.. Well let them, but frankly it is none of their business, any more than Northern Irish politics is none of mine.
But if they want to march in their monkey suits well let them, we Scots are perfectly able to let go of the past, we look to the here and now, and to the future of our country, and making it a better place, perhaps they should do likewise for their own.

Scots will decide, and we will do so without fear of coercion and false promises based on historical illusion.
My family will still be family, my friends will remain my friends, and my country will choose as it will what is best for it.
Roll on our Independence to choose on the 18th.

About auldacquaintance

I am not a member of any political party. I am however a strong supporter of Scots Independence. Any views which I express in this Blog are purely my own. This Blog intends to be a place where I will be putting my views on Scots Independence. It will primarily concern itself with the upcoming Referendum In Scotland. However It will also be somewhat diverse in the range of day to day issues which are evident to me in modern day Scotland. Not all of it will be political, and indeed may take me off into avenues I am not even aware of yet. Please come and join in on this journey, and any comments are welcome provided they are not abusive! All the best from a new acquaintance! Rod
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to On the Border

  1. Very good Rod,took me back a long time,I worked in Lifford and went back and forth across the border to Strabane depending on what I was buying usually beer and for getting my laundry done.Money was interchangeable back then ’72/73,never a problem with money sometimes the lack of it.

  2. jayhayman says:

    Good blog.

    I am Welsh, but would not like Scotland to leave the UK. I take your point on defence, that’s a valid one, but I am not sure Salmond would spend less in an independent Scotland– there are a lot of jobs riding on the ship building industry. And, while I agree there has been a lot of over-the-top scaremongering by the UK politicians and media, as an economist I can tell you it’s not going to be costless. The question is just how much you are prepared to pay extra for that independence. Personally, I reckon it won’t be more than around 5% additional of your income. At least over the next 5 years.

    Have a read of my blog for an objective take from the other side.

Leave a Reply

