Nearly Time to Go

After almost exactly 5 years since I began this blog. 5 years that have seen me make almost 500 posts and reached 101,000 visitors and quarter of a million views, it is almost time for it to go.
It has been quite some journey these past 5 years since I began it in 2011. We have seen changes which I never thought I would see in my lifetime, with much more to come I am sure.

I will be ending this blog on 31st December 2016. Auld Acquaintance will still be here for those that wish to have a read of the many topics I have covered over its lifespan.

Life is full of changes, and change is not something we should be frightened of. Our lives are full of points of transition, and transition is necessary to enable us all to move on.
The one change I would dearly have loved to have seen happen back on the 18th of September 2014 unfortunately didn’t take place, it wasn’t its time then.
The lies and the fearfulness of change had been successfully installed in too many Scots by the Better Together campaign, but with hindsight we can all see the lies now for what they were…Lies.
But no matter how resistant to change people are, particularly some of the older generation which I am close to being included in now, change still happens irregardless.
The days of an Independent Scotland draw ever closer, and no matter how much those that oppose Independence may howl, the day will come. I hope to still be alive to see it happen.

But irrespective of what happens, or when it happens, it is time for me to make my own changes, and leaving Auld Acquaintance as a footprint of my passing is one of those changes.
So come New Year, I will not be here writing this blog.

Please don’t take these comments negatively, I am quite upbeat about my own decision and comfortable with leaving it behind me. The blog has served my purpose, and I have had my say.
There will still be a few pieces to write in it before I shut up shop, so I am not done with it quite yet. I am merely giving advanced notice of my intent.

So what brings me to this juncture at this point? What are my reasons for my decision?

Fairly straightforward really.

As possibly some of you might know I suffered a Stroke in July, and while It wasn’t anywhere near as bad as it might have been, it was enough for me to make some reappraisals in my life, particularly after an arse of a consultant cheerfully informed me after the event that I would be dead in the next 5 years!
Now he may be a prophet of doom or he might not be, particularly as from all the results that came back from brain scans and heart tests, nothing was showing up as being particularly wrong. I do have peripheral arterial disease though, and that is not a good thing, and will require some lifestyle changes if I am to prevent his own project fear from being accurate.

That in itself was not enough to influence my decision over this blog however, but it was in some way party to it.

Due to the effects that my stroke had, and the type of work I was relying on to live, I have not properly worked over these past few months, just doing much lighter voluntary work for 2 days a week, which does not allow me to really survive financially as I am for much longer, so something has got to give.
It means basically that I have to find work which is not so physically demanding, and which will provide me with a reasonable standard of living which will pay my rent and keep a roof over my head, and provide me with reasonable sustenance.

Having the time to write this blog is not a main priority, and most of my concentration will be taken up simply trying to come up with something of some description which I am suited to doing….What that is? I have no idea, but I had best get my skates on!

So my search begins, so change must occur, and hopefully that change will be a positive one, rather than the opposite.

Nearly time for me to go…….But not quite yet!

All the Best

Rod

About auldacquaintance

I am not a member of any political party. I am however a strong supporter of Scots Independence. Any views which I express in this Blog are purely my own. This Blog intends to be a place where I will be putting my views on Scots Independence. It will primarily concern itself with the upcoming Referendum In Scotland. However It will also be somewhat diverse in the range of day to day issues which are evident to me in modern day Scotland. Not all of it will be political, and indeed may take me off into avenues I am not even aware of yet. Please come and join in on this journey, and any comments are welcome provided they are not abusive! All the best from a new acquaintance! Rod
This entry was posted in Change, scotland, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Nearly Time to Go

  1. Mike Jeffress says:

    I, for one, will be sorry to see you go Rod. Your posts have been insightful, balanced and yet leave no doubt as to where your sympathies lie.

    There has been a noticeable anger in the tone of your recent work, again something that I can empathise with. Who, on earth, can possible agree with the rule by diktat that has become the way of governance in the U.K.?

    The only hope for Scotland in the future is as an independent and enthusiastic member of the European Union, preferably as a republic, no longer in thrall to the Westminster Establishment. That is my view and one that I think you will agree with.

    Best wishes for your future health and prosperity, my Auld Acquaintance.

  2. Sorry you have to give up and you will be missed by many,but keep writing the poetry please,now that I am reading it.I don’t always comment as mostly no comment is needed,and you know most of us agree with independence some want it more for different reasons.I want to see an independent Scotland before I depart this life,although I’m certain enough Scots will see the need and Scotland will be independent with or without me being here.I’ll continue to read AA till you close it.Thanks for some great blogs and those that were just good! (LOL)

  3. Reblogged this on charlesobrien08 and commented:
    Another Blog I cant add anything to except be sorry to see this one close.

  4. Jammy Dodger says:

    Rod, it’s been a pleasure. Best wishes for your next venture.

  5. Kangaroo says:

    Well you will sadly be missed. I always enjoy your writings even though I don’t often comment. They usually don’t need any additions.
    We all get to a stage in life where it is sadly time to go. I hope you enjoy independence when it inevitably arrives. Good luck and best wishes from one auld fart to another.

  6. David McCann says:

    Really sorry to see you go, especially the circumstances in which you find yourself in, but good luck in all your endeavours.
    Thouroughly enjoyed your musings over the years.
    Take care.

  7. Morag says:

    You were one of the first blogs I tapped into for my political reawakening for the indy ref 1 and was so glad when you started up again (from your wee break after the event) as I continue to enjoy your clear spoken rational language of the Scottish political psyche. It would be smashin if you could lend yourself to a wee tour for public speaking. There are many like me who would be willing to give you hospitality and a fee, to speak your wisdom and illuminate your generosity of spirit.

    • Hi Morag, thanks very much for your kind words and support…and also occasional comment over the years.
      I had been trying for some time to do what you are suggesting but with no luck..
      Perhaps in the New Year opportunities may arise..
      Auld Acquaintance may be going into retirement on hogmanay…but I am not…
      For the present I am taking stock and assessing my options… I have a feeling that next year could be pivotal for Scotland….and I wont be missing out on it if I can help it!

  8. Hazel Smith says:

    I am sorry to hear you will be giving up your blog just when I found you. Your health is definitely #1 and quite right to make it your priority. I look forward to more posts from you before retiring this blog. Like you I think next year will be a very important one in the road to independence. Can’t wait for it to happen. Good luck with your future endeavours.

  9. David says:

    I join in the above commentators in saying that I too will be sorry to see you go. Yoou have consistently written one of the most interesting blogs. We can only sympathise with you in your change of circumstances, and wish you well for the future.

  10. David Craig says:

    So sad to hear your personal circumstances are in disarray , its like lots in life the good guys somehow seem to get bad luck , whilst the rogues prosper .I don’t always comment either ,though your comments often mirror my own ,wishing you the best for the future and a change to ` good luck `, sadly I fear for our chances of Independence now more than ever , to many good guys are getting older and retiring ,
    🙂

    • Thanks David….
      AA is being retired …I am not quite ready for that eventually yet.
      I will be fighting till my last breath for an independent Scotland. Hopefully that will be sooner rather than later.
      An independent Scotland that is …not my last breath🙂

  11. jimnarlene says:

    I hope everything turns out well, in the end, Rod. I’ve enjoyed your blog, and will do until you’re finished posting, good luck and let’s hope independence is close at hand; I’m not getting any younger either.

  12. Tarisgal says:

    I’m truly sorry that your health issues have been a cause for concern in the not so distant past and the results meaning the end of your blog. Making a living is indeed a necessity of life – but mind & make good health part of your job criteria! I fully understand your need to prioritise and end your blog, because that is what it is gonna take to get yourself on that ‘life/health/work’ balance thing again. But I’m a late-comer here, have really enjoyed reading your take on polical issues as they have unfolded and so I’m going to miss your wise words! Hopefully we shall see you add your tuppence around the Scottish Indy scene from time to time! I wish you well as you strike out in a new venture. Take care & – Good luck.🙂

    • Thanks much…. AA has still a bit of writing in it yet… I just feel that its about time to close that particular chapter… I will not be missing in action next year though… It is just a case of deciding the best way forward, and what that will include.

  13. Ian MacPherson says:

    So very sorry to hear of your health problems, here’s hoping. Good Luck ,Good Health and God Bless.

  14. twathater says:

    Hi Rod i have not long found your site and i have enjoyed your illuminating posts, but as you say unfortunately your finances and health must take precedence over priorities, like yourself i am an auld git with cardio probs but like you i hope oor lums will reek long enough to see our beloved country become independent, please young uns vote for a better future Kind regards Rod

Leave a Reply

