Political Christianity (The Vicars Daughter)

Political Christianity
 
For I was hungry
You sent me to a foodbank
When I was thirsty
You upped the water charges
When I was lame
You took me off my benefits
When I was dying
You told me get a job
 
 
Blessed are the peacemakers
Bomb a foreign country
Blessed are the meek
They shall be suppressed
Blessed are the poor
For they shall be made much poorer
Blessed are the children
We shall starve them half to death
 
As you proclaim your higher God
Protect us from your evil
A Christian head of State
Your Christian values you declare
You take the Holy scripture
And pervert it for your purpose
The Rich and You shall Inherit all Earths share

The Old, the weak, must all prepare to suffer
With homeless Spikes made for the homeless brother
Your Church and Temple is the Bankers parlour
Tis Power and Riches which are your great Religious ardour

 
Rod Macfarlane

About auldacquaintance

I am not a member of any political party. I am however a strong supporter of Scots Independence. Any views which I express in this Blog are purely my own. This Blog intends to be a place where I will be putting my views on Scots Independence. It will primarily concern itself with the upcoming Referendum In Scotland. However It will also be somewhat diverse in the range of day to day issues which are evident to me in modern day Scotland. Not all of it will be political, and indeed may take me off into avenues I am not even aware of yet. Please come and join in on this journey, and any comments are welcome provided they are not abusive! All the best from a new acquaintance! Rod
This entry was posted in poetry, politics, Theresa May and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Political Christianity (The Vicars Daughter)

  1. Connor McEwen says:

    That would make nice reading in the Piers Gaveston Society or the Bullingdon Club

  2. bigirishman says:

    As a Christian I agree completely with your poem and expect to hear it quoted (and attributed) Thanks and blessings

Leave a Reply

