Away from the manger (A True Story)

Wishing all of my good friends and readers of this blog one last Happy Christmas before Auld Acquaintance ceases to be in the New Year.
I hope you all have a wonderful time and enjoy the festive season, but remember to spare a thought for those less fortunate at this time of year, particularly those caught out in the cold and in these elements, where joy and festivities is a long ago dream in their nightmare world.

This is a true story from a number of years back, but the scene will still be repeated somewhere else tonight.

Many blessings and good wishes to you all

Away from the Manger ( A true story)

I looked upon a homeless man
trying to get some sleep
Lying on broken cardboard
beside a rubbish skip
While all around in the big hotel
all had comfort for the night
His head it lay on concrete
and dreamed of fire light

It was a cold cold night December
And the city shone like a Christmas tree
From the pubs and clubs rang merriment
People drunk on debauchery
Down by the river bank,I heard the sound of song
Carols drifting in the night
about some child and heavenly throng
And that we should see some light

The man looked in my direction
and saw me standing there
Then he pleaded with me
In the words of his despair
“Please don’t move me on from here
it’s the only shelter I can find
The night is cold and it’s turned to snow
behind this cardboard I can hide”

Somewhere else a fight broke out
Raised voices,angry stares
Some girl she screamed
upon the scene
a knife had taken air
A slash,a cut, disfigurement
Police rushing to the scene
A drunken boy in custody
Guest of her Majesty the Queen

The bells rang out for Christmas
Some others went to church
They sang their praise to God their King
And prayed for all their worth
On their way home,some passed the man
But didn’t like to stare
For they had finished singing anthems
for the homeless everywhere

I took the man and guided him
to a basement in the Inn
Tonight my friend you shall be warm
There lies some room within
I gave him food, that he should eat
Some drink,to nourish him inside
For this one night at least
A warm place he could reside

At Christmas time

Rod Macfarlane

The Above poem is based on the night, and real events Christmas 08

It was a bitterly cold night, and as I came out the back rubbish area of a City hotel, I discovered this homeless man laying cardboard on the cold concrete,and he had pulled cardboard over him as a blanket.

There was no hostel or shelter he could go to, and the snow was pouring down.
Normally if the hotel finds homeless people trying to take shelter, they are swiftly shown the door.
This was Christmas,and after speaking to the gentleman in question for a while, I broke the rules!!
I found him some dry storage space in the hotel where he had a couch to sleep on. I made him a warm meal and gave him tea to drink.
I had to make sure that he vacated the hotel for half six in the morning before management and staff came on duty.
But it was Christmas,and for once, some space was found in the Inn.

About auldacquaintance

I am not a member of any political party. I am however a strong supporter of Scots Independence. Any views which I express in this Blog are purely my own. This Blog intends to be a place where I will be putting my views on Scots Independence. It will primarily concern itself with the upcoming Referendum In Scotland. However It will also be somewhat diverse in the range of day to day issues which are evident to me in modern day Scotland. Not all of it will be political, and indeed may take me off into avenues I am not even aware of yet. Please come and join in on this journey, and any comments are welcome provided they are not abusive! All the best from a new acquaintance! Rod
This entry was posted in Christmas, poetry, scotland, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Away from the manger (A True Story)

  1. Andrea says:

    May your Christmas be a good one, that poem of reality is one that brought a tear to my eye, not that I have much but I have more than those whom are homeless.

  2. Graeme Timoney says:

    Wishing you a happy Christmas and all things good for the coming years. Thank you for the many wise words you will be missed but not forgotten

  3. benmadigan says:

    best wishes for Christmas and the New year.
    Regret you are closing your blog but respect your decision.
    With regards to the poem and story of the homeless man – I am sure you will be glad to hear something is stirring in ireland. The people seem less and less inclined to accept government policy on evictions and home repossessions – which is the same all over austerity-hit Western bloc countries

    https://eurofree3.wordpress.com/2016/12/22/this-is-our-ireland/

  4. jimnarlene says:

    All the best to you and yours.

  5. A peaceful time to one and all,I wish we all can have hope for the future and independence before too long and a year is too long.Not really too long I’ve wished for independence since I was a child,it was always inside of me.We can tackle homlesness and many ills of our society but we have to do it nobody else can or even wants to or cares,but we care for each other.

  6. Reblogged this on charlesobrien08 and commented:
    A peaceful time to one and all,I wish we all can have hope for the future and independence before too long and a year is too long.Not really too long I’ve wished for independence since I was a child,it was always inside of me.We can tackle homlesness and many ills of our society but we have to do it nobody else can or even wants to or cares,but we care for each other.

  7. Hazel Smith says:

    All the best to you and your family over the holiday season. Sad to see you end your blogs but understand it’s time to move on. We all are hoping for independence soon when Scotland will be a more caring country and look after its sick and poor. It’s coming yet for a’ that.

  8. Hugh Wallace says:

    Merry Christmas to you too! I will miss this blog when it is gone but I completely understand the need to call it a day. We all play our part, large or small, but when it is time to move on it is time. Thank you so much for what you have done here.

Leave a Reply

