No to YES

It is not my profession, but regularly to keep fit I do some store merchandising and shop fitting.
Why do I mention this? Simply to relate a little antidote from my travels.
Pre the 2014 #Indyref I had been away with a bunch of scots blokes to do a refit somewhere in England. The subject of the referendum barely raised its head, the guys were far more interested in talking about the footie than any referendum.
On the one occasion that I did hear them discuss it, they to a man said that they would be voting NO, and I assume that is exactly what they did.

Over the past 10 days I have been in the English midlands with 10 of these blokes, fitting out a brand new store. On this occasion, there was the usual footie talk, but intermingled with it was lots of talk about a new referendum, and they had certainly been doing their homework on it. But what is more, to a man they were All going to vote YES this time, and they were extremely determined in that opinion.
What changed their minds? I really couldn’t say to be exact, there wasn’t one thing that particularly stood out, but more a whole variety of reasons.
Individually they had been having discussions with their friends, and they had been doing their homework.

Now these guys range in age from 26 to 60, and all come from different backgrounds.
If there was one feeling these mostly former labour voters had in common, it was utter disillusionment with Labour, Westminster, and outrage over what was being done to the working man, the poor, the unemployed, the disabled, by successive Westminster governments which did not at all reflect their values.
The other being that they no longer believed the lies being spun by unionist British nationalists.
They felt that Scotland had not only been ripped off by the Vow and such like, but had been ripped off for the duration that Scotland had been in the Union.

They had more than their fill of the Tories, Labour, UKIP, and the LibDems, who they considered to be utter shysters. It was time that Scotland grew a pair, and stood up to be counted.
The language often used was somewhat more robust than that, and I really couldn’t repeat much of what they said and keep this article within the bounds of polite language.

They were Angry, they are determined, and this time… they will vote differently.

!0 NO’s have turned into 10 determined YES’s , and they are taking no Bullshit from the Media or the Unionist Press or the Unionist politicians..

No to YES…. requires engagement, discussion, comparisons and bloody determination..

The rabidly fixated Unionists will never budge, but the working man and woman with no axe to grind on that score…are all there for the persuading… Talk to them wherever you meet them…

NO WILL BECOME YES come the time and day.
.

About auldacquaintance

I am not a member of any political party. I am however a strong supporter of Scots Independence. Any views which I express in this Blog are purely my own. This Blog intends to be a place where I will be putting my views on Scots Independence. It will primarily concern itself with the upcoming Referendum In Scotland. However It will also be somewhat diverse in the range of day to day issues which are evident to me in modern day Scotland. Not all of it will be political, and indeed may take me off into avenues I am not even aware of yet. Please come and join in on this journey, and any comments are welcome provided they are not abusive! All the best from a new acquaintance! Rod
This entry was posted in #Scotref, Change, independence, politics, scotland, YES and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to No to YES

  1. It also seems to be very much a one-way street. I have yet to hear of, or from, a 2014 ‘YES’-voter who intends to vote ‘NO’ in the next referendum and this bodes well for the outcome.

    • I would broadly agree…however on the down side, I have spoken to friends who are not convinced after voting YES last time, because they are worried we might not get to remain in the EU, and are rather confused by the whole implications of Brexit… They seem to buy what the State Media and Unionist Press are telling them to a degree.. But they are not internet users for their info, so getting facts to them is difficult.
      When the time comes, there has to be lots of face to face engagement with friends and family like that.

      • caledonia7 says:

        Well there’s one thing for sure, if they vote NO they definitely won’t be remaining in the EU!

  2. Hazel Smith says:

    Nice to hear. I really do think a lot more people are tuned in to what’s happening and won’t be fooled by the U.K.,propaganda next time.

  3. Thanks Rod for something to brighten up a dreich day.I wish I was still able to get out and about I might get cheered up by eavesdropping, in any case this needs sharing to cheer up more of us.

  4. Reblogged this on charlesobrien08 and commented:
    Another excellent piece of writing from Rod,very cheerful,this’ll brighten up the most dreich day for anybody.

  5. baronesssamedi says:

    Thank you for this cheering news but I do worry about the effects of the SNP wish to join EU (another Union blah, blah).

    • We will just have to see how that pans out.
      The fact is many many people voted for Independence last time round, with the argument that Scotland should stay in the EU… There should be no good reason for that to change now.
      However…. the argument should be in my opinion, that Scotland should stay in Europe….either through EU, EFTA or EEA… There are pros and cons in all of them.. But one thing for sure…Scotland needs as an Independent country to be part of the wider European and World community..not increasingly isolated and trapped within a separatist British State

  6. fynesider2 says:

    The news from the workface…! Brilliant piece Rod. From what I read you did little or nothing to convince them this time which confirms my ‘general’ feeling that the tide has changed in our favour despite back-benchers like Bill Cash opening his mouth and letting his tummy rumble.

    Very heartening… Thanks. Will be sharing as normal….

    • I had no input into the discussions starting…mostly kept my gob shut and just listened to them…So no persuading or instigating of discussion needed by me whatsoever.
      I did have my own little contribution later, but that was just to affirm much of what they had been saying.

  7. fynesider2 says:

    As I thought…

Leave a Reply

