Alex Salmond the Man

It is more than a decade since I and Alex Salmond worked together….I as a minister and him as an MP in Westminster.
These days are long gone now…
Apart from liking each other personally, the main things we had in common back then were our collective belief in Scottish Independence ( Alex asked me to stand for election, I refused)
And an overwhelming desire from both of us to stand up for Social Justice and fighting the corner of those most disadvantaged in society.
I can say now, what I promised not to say then….Alex had given his fees for a newspaper article amounting to thousands of pounds to a charity I was Vice Chair of, and we were going Bust, but he asked that his donation be kept quiet as he didn’t want political capital out of it.
It upsets me deeply when I hear people who have never met him, never had any experience of him, follow a Dog whistle from his opponents decrying him.
He has been called a dictator, compared to Hitler and others, called a Fat Bastard, and numerous other things…
He is none of the above, just an ordinary guy who believes and has fought with his every breath for Scottish Independence and Social Justice.
I am sad to see him step down as Leader of his party, but I believe it the right decision at the right time. He looks tired and exhausted, and needs a rest..
Much like myself…I gave up my full time ministry because I had given all that I could give,. Any more would have meant my mental breakdown and collapse..
Alex and I have traveled together and apart, but we gave everything that we had. I salute him and like him.
Our roads have diverged…He the Leader and Me the Agitator, but we have both served our people, Scotland, with all our hearts.
He will carry on a while as an MSP. Me? Goodness knows?
Two different people, two different stories to tell…One Belief…In Us, The People of Scotland

About auldacquaintance

I am not a member of any political party. I am however a strong supporter of Scots Independence. Any views which I express in this Blog are purely my own. This Blog intends to be a place where I will be putting my views on Scots Independence. It will primarily concern itself with the upcoming Referendum In Scotland. However It will also be somewhat diverse in the range of day to day issues which are evident to me in modern day Scotland. Not all of it will be political, and indeed may take me off into avenues I am not even aware of yet. Please come and join in on this journey, and any comments are welcome provided they are not abusive! All the best from a new acquaintance! Rod
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Alex Salmond the Man

  1. mary says:

    Thanks for such an interesting post. It’s good to hear about a man who has been much maligned in the media, but has done so much for his country.

  2. Drew says:

    Great insight into Alex and yourself, Rod. Thanks.

  3. FergusMac says:

    In the late 1990s, a friend of mine, a bloke from Carlisle, was taken ill on his way home from London by train. Alex Salmond assisted him off the train, got him help, and could not have been nicer. Says it all, really.

  4. Barontorc says:

    I have never met Alex Salmond and struggle to see why others vilify him. I watch his every broadcast and he has always been my ‘main man’.

    I see his competence and energy and truthfulness as his main personal virtues, yet he is attacked for acting as a politician must act to survive the bear-pit that passes for up-standing British political life and values, but in reality is the feral polar opposite.

    I have noted with pleasure the continuous votes of acclaim he gets from even-handed observers, the huge difference in public confidence votes he has over all other UK political leaders, yet still the mealy-mouthed criticism from comparative nonentities, the characters who couldn’t lace his boots, that line up to toss their feckless barbs at him, but he’s still the guy who stands abune them a’ an lang may his lum reek to their continuous discomfort and discredit.

    S, tanks for everything Alex – keep it going we need you more than ever.

  5. JimnArlene says:

    I have met Alex, on numerous occasions and always found him gracious and affable, a true gent.
    I must admit that I was a member of the SNP, but not when I first met him on an anti-poll tax rally. I hasten to add I will be a member of the SNP, again.

  6. Morag Frame says:

    I remember this time last year, I tuned into the internet, read your blog and felt uplifted. There was somebody out there that felt the same as me and could express ‘it’. I agree with you. Alex Salmond is a good man and that is why the establishment hate him so much.
    I did waver at one point during his administration – when the Scottish Government overturned the Aberdeen Council’s casting vote, regarding Mr Trump? Then, I realised Alex had a sense of humour to trump, Trump! Like Sancho Panza looking at windmills. Uplifting!

  7. diabloandco says:

    My admiration for Mr Salmond comes from observing his actions with us ordinary folk.
    I have been horrified by the personal attacks by those broadcasters and so called journalists. I had thought that after his resignation speech they would have turned off the vilification – but it seems that it is a earner for some “churnalists”.who have little talent but lots of hot air.
    I do hope they reap their just reward for such scurrilous attacks and hope that should Ms Sturgeon become leader that she does not become a recipient of the same.
    I look forward to the day when Scotland has fewer newspapers and fewerjournalists.

  8. yesguy says:

    Superb post and ditto the comments.
    Scotland will rue the fact we lost the best First minster ever. Nichola has big boots to fill and will get my support . My hope is Alex is still there keeping her right.

Leave a comment