Should he stay, or shall he go?

Today sees another chapter in the Jim Murphy mini drama, with  Labours Scottish executive meeting to decide his fate.

Jim has been clinging on like a limpet to the position of Leader of  the local Labour Scottish branch office, despite no longer holding any elected position, having lost his Westminster seat in the General election.

Labour could choose to take the tory route of elevating him to the House of Lords to attempt to give him some form of dubious unelected political legitimacy, but of course they wont do that, they would be an even bigger laughing stock than they already are.

I have nothing to support my suspicion, but I suspect that Labour got exactly what they wanted when they gave him his role, namely that they would be rid of him.
As the voices mounting from the Unions in recent days, demanding his resignation, have got ever louder, Jim and his buddy McTernan have desperately tried to quell opposition, but seemingly to little avail.

A letter has been doing the rounds seeking support for him from MSP’s, not MPs, they only have one of those left.
Nicola Sturgeon on hearing this, asked “where can I sign”?

Far be it for me to suggest that he goes, I hope he stays and gives us some more fun next year in Holyrood election.

But in the meantime, lets hear it for his new theme song…

About auldacquaintance

I am not a member of any political party. I am however a strong supporter of Scots Independence. Any views which I express in this Blog are purely my own. This Blog intends to be a place where I will be putting my views on Scots Independence. It will primarily concern itself with the upcoming Referendum In Scotland. However It will also be somewhat diverse in the range of day to day issues which are evident to me in modern day Scotland. Not all of it will be political, and indeed may take me off into avenues I am not even aware of yet. Please come and join in on this journey, and any comments are welcome provided they are not abusive! All the best from a new acquaintance! Rod
This entry was posted in politics, scotland and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Should he stay, or shall he go?

  1. jimnarlene says:

    For the independence supporting side of the Scottish electorate, Jim’s the gift that keeps on giving.
    Great choice of song, one of my favourites.

  2. James Morris says:

    A great song for Carmichael as well.

Leave a Reply

